The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I would agree with your MLBUM example, except there was an attempted tag play prior to B/R simply missing 1B...in this example, B/R didn't necessarily beat the play at 1B because there was already a tag attempt on him.

Does that have anything to do with the type of call here?, that's the only reason I have for referencing a play at home plate where this happens most often.
HUH? BR reached (passed) 1B safely & that's how the call is made. An attempted tag of BR before he reaches 1B means nothing here - a proper appeal is required to obtain an out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 08:37pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Okay, that's what I was asking...that's why I asked if it made a difference or not.

If it does, then it seems as though his mechanics were incorrect based on the post by Dave Reed.

thx socalblue
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2009, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Means nothing

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalblue1 View Post
HUH? BR reached (passed) 1B safely & that's how the call is made. An attempted tag of BR before he reaches 1B means nothing here - a proper appeal is required to obtain an out.
F3 missed 2 opportunities to tag B/R. Rulebook aside, an appeal would not be recognized.

A) Does this apply?
Rule 7.10(c) He overruns or overslides first base and fails to return to the base immediately, and he or the base is tagged;
The Indians argued in favor of 7.10(b/d and c) with no luck.

B) Does the exception to Rule 7.08 (c) below apply to the OP?
Rule 7.08 (c) He is tagged, when the ball is alive, while off his base. EXCEPTION: A batter-runner cannot be tagged out after overrunning or oversliding first base if he returns immediately to the base;
The EXCEPTION means nothing in the OP. The exception which protects the batter-runner at 1B is immediately removed once 1B is passed untouched.

C) Does this apply?
Rule 7.08(e) ... The force is removed as soon as the runner touches the base to which he is forced to advance, and if he overslides or overruns the base, the runner must be tagged to be put out. ...
First base is treated no differently than any other base. Best explanation I have!
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat May 09, 2009 at 03:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
F3 missed 2 opportunities to tag B/R. Rulebook aside, an appeal would not be recognized.

A) Does this apply?
Rule 7.10(c) He overruns or overslides first base and fails to return to the base immediately, and he or the base is tagged;
The Indians argued in favor of 7.10(b/d and c) with no luck.

B) Does the exception to Rule 7.08 (c) below apply to the OP?
Rule 7.08 (c) He is tagged, when the ball is alive, while off his base. EXCEPTION: A batter-runner cannot be tagged out after overrunning or oversliding first base if he returns immediately to the base;
The EXCEPTION means nothing in the OP. The exception which protects the batter-runner at 1B is immediately removed if 1B is passed untouched.

C) Does this apply?
Rule 7.08(e) ... The force is removed as soon as the runner touches the base to which he is forced to advance, and if he overslides or overruns the base, the runner must be tagged to be put out. ...
First base is treated no differently than any other base. Best explanation I have!
Tag attempts prior to batter-runner reaching/passing 1B mean nothing so far as allowing an appeal here. Batter-runner missed 1B while passing & may thus be ruled out via proper appeal.

In this case it's unrelaxed action & a tag would be required. IMO this situation should be treated exactly the same way as a runner missing HP (Except we make a safe call when he passes 1B). Nothing more than a simple missed base.

7.08(c) protects a batter-runner who immediately returns to 1B. 7.08(a) does not apply & 7.08(j) Comment allows tag or base touched if no attempt to return.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 06:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalblue1 View Post
Tag attempts prior to batter-runner reaching/passing 1B mean nothing so far as allowing an appeal here. Batter-runner missed 1B while passing & may thus be ruled out via proper appeal.

In this case it's unrelaxed action & a tag would be required. IMO this situation should be treated exactly the same way as a runner missing HP (Except we make a safe call when he passes 1B). Nothing more than a simple missed base.

7.08(c) protects a batter-runner who immediately returns to 1B. 7.08(a) does not apply & 7.08(j) Comment allows tag or base touched if no attempt to return.
SoCal, you might be a little late to the party here and maybe skipped a few posts in the thread. 7.08 is not the rule relevant to missed-base appeals, 7.10 is.

The question concerns whether the appeal was properly constituted (fielder catches ball and tags base while the runner scrambles back). Two rules seem relevant:
7.10(b): either the runner or the base may be tagged
7.10(d): by implication, if the runner is scrambling back to home plate, he (and not the plate) must be tagged; by extension, since the runner may also run past 1B, some favor extending this ruling to 1B.

I have heard authorities in favor of both rulings. Diaz obviously voted with his ruling. I was wondering if this issue had been settled in some authoritative way.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I was wondering if this issue had been settled in some authoritative way.
I think it has been settled by MLBUM 5.4(12):

"Batter-runner hits a ground ball and beats the play at first base but misses the bag.
Ruling: The proper mechanic is for the umpire to call the runner safe, indicating he beat the play. If the defense appeals by tagging the runner (or base) and appealing that the runner missed first base before the runner returns to first base, the batter-runner would be declared out. Note also OBR Rule 7.08(k) Casebook comment and Section 5.3."


The reference to 7.08(k) and Section 5.3 can only mean that the principle behind 7.10(d) should be taken into account. Here's 5.3 (which includes and restates all of 7.08(k), its Comment, and 7.10(d):

5.3 RUNNER MISSES HOME PLATE
Should a runner, in scoring, fail to touch home plate and continue on his way to the bench (making no effort to return), he may be put out by the fielder touching home plate and appealing to the umpire for a decision. However, this rule applies only where a runner is on his way to the bench and the catcher would be required to chase the runner. It does not apply to the ordinary play where the runner misses the plate and then immediately makes an effort to touch the plate before being tagged. In that case, the runner must be tagged. In such cases, base path rules still apply to the runner (i.e., he may not run more than three feet from the "baseline" between him and home plate).


The evidence for extending 7.10(d) to at least first base is:
  1. A MLBUM interp specific to a missed first base situation directs the reader to note the interp for a missed home plate.
  2. The PBUC interp given to Childress says extend 7.10(d) to all bases.
  3. J/R also requires the effect of 7.10(d) at all bases.

I'm not aware of Evans directly addressing the issue. (Poo-poohing unrelaxed/relaxed as "not in the rule book" is both wrong and too terse to be of value.) The only known (at least to me) contrary opinion is from the Wendelstedt school.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Great. I'm in. Thanks, Dave!
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 10:40am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Reed View Post
I think it has been settled by MLBUM 5.4(12):

"Batter-runner hits a ground ball and beats the play at first base but misses the bag.
Ruling: The proper mechanic is for the umpire to call the runner safe, indicating he beat the play. If the defense appeals by tagging the runner (or base)

Dave, what do you suppose is the reasoning for including the parenthetical statement "or a base" in the above passage? Would it be in the case that the action is relaxed?

All in all, I do like your analysis.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 10:44am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I would say that in this case, he didn't simply beat the play...this play is similar to a play at home plate where the runner slides, misses the base, catcher misses the tag, now it's a race to the base...runner to touch it before he's tagged out.

We can't realistically call an out here by F3 simply touching 1B on this play. This has to be a tag play. That's how I'm interpreting Dave's posts.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Dave, what do you suppose is the reasoning for including the parenthetical statement "or a base" in the above passage? Would it be in the case that the action is relaxed?
I think so. The OBR way of phrasing "relaxed" seems to be "not scrambling back."

Last edited by Dave Reed; Fri May 08, 2009 at 09:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 09, 2009, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Good question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Dave, what do you suppose is the reasoning for including the parenthetical statement "or a base" in the above passage? Would it be in the case that the action is relaxed?

All in all, I do like your analysis.
Would it be in the case that the action is relaxed? No. It may apply to relaxed/unrelaxed action. It may not. There is no definitive OBR/MLBUM caseplay. Forget the J/R interp for a moment. It does not "exist" and it cannot be used to justify any valid ruling.

Would it be in the case that some action may prevent the defense from completing a legal "tag" appeal? Yes. For example, the runner is standing on the base. The defense may still appeal that the runner missed the base. The umpire may rule the runner out

What is definitive? It applies to the case where a runner cannot legally return to the missed base as a result of HIS continuous action. There is no disputing this fact. When the defense cannot tag the runner because he is not there or he standing on the base; the only other viable option is to make a verbal appeal and tag the base. The out may still be recorded in this manner which is by rule one of the "unmistakable appeals" accepted by MLB.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat May 09, 2009 at 02:12pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Go Tigers schmitty1973 Football 6 Sun Aug 20, 2006 06:10pm
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Tigers Win!!! Tigers Win !! mick Basketball 19 Tue Sep 30, 2003 06:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1