![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Does the issue that F2 touches the ball prior to contact factor in with a possible non-interference?
In another sich, lets say, catcher is on the plate, ball beats runner who slides, ball hits catchers glove( but pops out unseen by F2) immediately he kneels to sweeptag runner, causing runner to stop short because he slide into F2's knee. F2 picks up ball and then tags. I've pictured the rule change to penalize a fielder who interferes/blocks access before catching the ball, but what if the ball beats the runner but bounces off the defense's glove before contact? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, please use the correct term "obstruction" (not "interference") when refering to the defensive hindrance. |
|
|||
|
I agree. 2-22-3 defines 'obstruction' in these terms: "The fielder without possession of the ball denies access to the base the runner is attempting to achieve" (my emphasis). Having the ball nearby does not constitute possession.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Play at plate | tayjaid | Softball | 10 | Wed May 14, 2008 12:42pm |
| Play at the plate | NewNCref | Softball | 10 | Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:29pm |
| play at the plate | coach2535 | Baseball | 32 | Sun Mar 04, 2007 06:41pm |
| Play at plate | Duke | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 27, 2005 03:19pm |
| Play at the plate. | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 2 | Wed May 29, 2002 08:37am |