![]() |
|
|||
|
If the runner collides with F2 as he makes the catch, but the contact is not so severe as to warrant MC, then you can call the out without the EJ, as Bob said.
Quote:
(a) F2 set up to receive throw, runner hits him: RULING - whether or not F2 has the ball, this sounds like MC, and I'd have to see to believe otherwise. (b) Throw to F2 draws him into runner's path, runner tries to avoid, collision: RULING - by 8-4-2(c) that's a legal play by the runner, who was attempting to avoid. (c) Throw to F2 draws him into runner's path too late for runner to avoid: RULING - I can't see punishing the offense for mistakes by the defense (off-line throw). Given the restriction of 8-4-2(c) that the runner must avoid contact when the fielder is in the immediate act of playing on him, it's hard to see the application of this rule.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Play at plate | tayjaid | Softball | 10 | Wed May 14, 2008 12:42pm |
| Play at the plate | NewNCref | Softball | 10 | Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:29pm |
| play at the plate | coach2535 | Baseball | 32 | Sun Mar 04, 2007 06:41pm |
| Play at the plate | AC Blue | Baseball | 17 | Thu May 18, 2006 10:49pm |
| Play at the plate. | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 2 | Wed May 29, 2002 08:37am |