The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 18, 2009, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
FED 3-1-1 Penalty:
PENALTY:
If the starting pitcher does not face one batter, he may play another position, but not return to pitch.

FED 3-1-2
................ A player may be removed as pitcher and returned as pitcher only once per inning, provided the return as pitcher does not violate either the pitching, substitution or charged conference rule. If the pitcher, because of an injury or being incapacitated, is replaced as pitcher and the above rule is not satisfied, or if his replacement requires more warm-up throws than permitted in 6-2-2 exception, he cannot return to the game as a pitcher.

FED 3-2-3
ART. 3 ...
Any of the starting players may be withdrawn and re-entered once, including a player who was the designated hitter, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he is in the lineup. The pitcher is governed by the provisions of Article 2 above. A substitute who is withdrawn may not re-enter. A starting pitcher who is replaced in the top of the first inning while his team is at bat shall be governed by the provisions of Articles 1 and 2 above.

2008 FED Casebook (Sorry, didn't get a new one yet)

3.1.2 SITUATION A:
F1 is replaced by S1. The catcher or coach of the defensive team indicates to the umpire-in-chief that his team wishes to grant an intentional base on balls. Following the intentional base on balls, S1 is replaced by S2.
RULING: That is legal, since S1 has faced the necessary one batter.

3.1.2 SITUATION B: While taking his warm-up pitches prior to the start of the fourth inning, F1 develops a blister on the tip of his index finger and is replaced as pitcher. F1's replacement takes (a) the remaining number of warm-up pitches
due starter F1, or (b) more warm-up pitches than starter F1 was entitled.
RULING: In (a), F1 could re-enter as pitcher. In (b), because F1's replacement took more warm-up throws than F1 had remaining, F1 could not re-enter as pitcher.

3.1.2 SITUATION C: In the top half of the first, S1 pinch hits for F1. In the bottom half of the first inning, F1 (a) re-enters to face the first batter or (b) does not re-enter until later.
RULING: A substitute may replace F1 while his team is at bat without penalty. Since F1 is a starter, he shall re-enter and pitch to the first batter in the bottom of the first inning. In (a) F1 has complied with the rule. In (b), since F1 did not pitch to the first batter, F1 may not return to pitch. He may, however, play another position. (3-1-1, 3-1-3)

************************************************** ***

I hope that the above will help this discussion. It's all I have time for at work today.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 18, 2009, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Glen Burnie, Md
Posts: 371
Get back to work, the boss is looking!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Re-entering pitcher

Now I'm really confused. In a game last Saturday (high school) the opposing team attempted to put pitcher #2 back on the mound. He had been moved from the mound to second base. The attempt to re-enter was 2 innings after the removal. We protested the move and the ump upheld our concern. I'm convinced we were right, but the other coach is just as convinced he was. Is there a rule or case history I can point to for either case. I'll eat crow if I'm wrong but I sure would like to know the facts!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Sohl View Post
Now I'm really confused. In a game last Saturday (high school) the opposing team attempted to put pitcher #2 back on the mound. He had been moved from the mound to second base. The attempt to re-enter was 2 innings after the removal. We protested the move and the ump upheld our concern. I'm convinced we were right, but the other coach is just as convinced he was. Is there a rule or case history I can point to for either case. I'll eat crow if I'm wrong but I sure would like to know the facts!
Pitcher #2 went to play second (when pitcher #3 entered)? And then two innings later pitcher #2 returned to the mound?

This is legal unless pitcher #2 was removed because of excess conferences (i.e., the team had already used its 3 "free" conferences), or pitcher #3 required more than 8 warm-ups.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Ozzy and others detailed what rules and exceptions apply.

Sounds like he can go back to the mound and pitch and you and the umpire are wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Sohl View Post
I'll eat crow if I'm wrong but I sure would like to know the facts!

Would you like a nice Chardonnay with that?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Fact - any pitcher can return to the mound (except for the situations mentioned above)

Fact - a pitcher can only return to pitch once per inning

Fact - white wine is preferred with fowl

"These are the facts of the case and they are undisputed."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 10:16pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Sohl View Post
I'll eat crow if I'm wrong but I sure would like to know the facts!
Bon appetit!

__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 01:17am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Is that the Nutrisystem diet plan?
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 09:52am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
Is that the Nutrisystem diet plan?
Pretty much.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
entering the court fullor30 Basketball 19 Thu Dec 13, 2007 08:49am
DH - Re-entering question cshs81 Baseball 12 Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:16am
A re-entering starter? BktBallRef Basketball 2 Thu Feb 01, 2007 08:57am
ball entering basket below the rim stewcall Basketball 5 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:58am
Trouble entering thread greymule Baseball 4 Wed Dec 17, 2003 07:39am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1