The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 04:38pm
Eschew obfuscation.

First Year Umpire

So, I've been reffing basketball and football for about six years now, and my mother (who is a HS softball head coach) persuaded me to get into baseball and softball umpiring. I have read up on a lot of threads about purchasing equipment for this year (big thanks by the way), so I think that I have most of that covered. However, I wanted to ask a lot of you that have been doing this for several years, what else can I do to prepare for my first season on the diamond? I have contacted a local association to get involved with, so that was step one in my book. Anyone got anything for me? What should I expect from this year? What are good ways of getting games this season? Any other tips from the pros? I just want to try and be as prepared as possible this year.
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member

The most important person you can impress , is yourself. Work hard at being the best you can.

Listen, read all that you can about officiating and baseball officiating. Work hard.

Be arrogant, yet approachable. Cocky, but confident. Dress as if you know it all and work hard to make up what you haven't quite learned yet. work hard.

Be as professional as you can and as personable as the situtaion dictates.

Remember, the first game you officiate, you are expected to be perfect and get better each time from then on.

Good Luck and welcome.
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member

Unless you are planning to only work youth ball, maybe summer ball, you should be a state licensed official(which may include classes and a test). Your assoc will have that info (in Ohio the classes are starting now).
Your officiating experience in the other sports is an advantage over other new umpires. Read the rules. Do as many scrimmages as you can. Attend others and watch the umpires.