The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jun 07, 2002, 08:43am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to SC_Cindy
I'd like some imput. First of all, I'm a JV softball coach but I'm posting this question as a mother. LOL! Last night in a Dixie Youth Majors (11/12 yr. olds) game my son was ejected from the game for not sliding at home plate. It's not the call that I'm "concerned" with but the "manner" in which it was given. My son ran directly into the catcher who was at least half his size. It was a hard "hit" to a child that size, but thank goodness they were both fine. My son lost track of the ball and thought he had "time" and the catcher stepped up about the time Holden was running across the plate. Doesn't it have to be "malicious"? What deems "malicious"? The umpire kept "yelling" at least 3 times that the player is ejected. He was literally dancing behind home plate doing an "ejection" dance. I just wish that he would have called him out or ejected him without the theatrics. The other umpire said it was a bad call, but it was his call to make. After the game, he came over to my son and spoke with him. I appreciate that. What do you think of this? Thanks!
Old Fri Jun 07, 2002, 08:57am
Official Forum Member

You have two different questions here:

1) Was it the correct call? It sounds like it. There is no verbiage around the type of contact required, i.e. malicious or not. Rather the rule states that it is the runner's responsibility to slide or go around the tag. If he does not do that, he is ejected. The only thing I might have said to your son after the game was that he needs to always be aware of where the ball is to prevent this from happening again. Generally, if there is any doubt, coaches teach runners to always slide into home.