![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
not in the question.....it was he said "i'm appealing" so he touch home plate not the runner..
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
I think their trying to tell you the tag must be applied.
Unrelaxed action means play is still in progress Relaxed action, unrelaxed action has come to an end {no baserunning or play in progress}.
__________________
SAump
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In "B", we have relaxed action and the runner would be out on the appeal. |
|
|||
|
read the OP.... F2 said Im appealing then threw the ball to 2nd to stop the advancing BR.....
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
ok here is the answer...
In (a), R2 is not out and the run counts. F2 would have had to tag him for the appeal. In (b), it is an appeal play and R2 is out since he left the plate area heading for the dugout. The runner has to make an Immediate effort to return, of course this is a judgment call.
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
So....you already knew the answer, but asked everyone just to see who else did? Why? Is there going to be a quiz later on or something?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Strange game. |
|
|||
|
what in the heck do you mean Unrelaxed or relaxed? what is the hell does that mean.
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Generally speaking when action is "un-relaxed" meaning runner scrambling back etc. the umpire will not honor any sort of an appeal and the runner MUST be tagged in order to record the out. When action is relaxed meaning action is stopped etc. then the umpire will recognize the appeal. Example: Ground ball to F4 who throws to F3. B1 beats the play but does not touch first base. B1 is some 10-12 ft passed the bag and F3 steps on first and says "Blue B1 missed the bag" - Umpire will make the ruling in this case out. Same as above EXCEPT B1 after passing first base immediately scrambles back (action = un-relaxed). In that instance B1 must be tagged in order to get the out. Therefore, in your play when R3 was scrambling back to touch home plate an appeal will NOT be honored. Further clarification of "heading back to the dug-out" is needed but generally speaking in that case all F2 needs to do is step on the plate an make the appeal. You cannot expect F2 to chase after R3. In summary the terms relaxed / un-relaxed are not in the rule-book but used by authorities to help explain the appeal rules. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If I'm wrong, I'd love to see some references to this. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
At one time in FED ONLY an "accidental appeal" was allowed. That is NOT the case anymore. Therefore, if B1 beats the throw and missed first base, F3 MUST tag B1 to get the out provided the action is un-relaxed ie: B1 immediately turns around to touch the base. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
When he passes a base, he is considered to be "at" that base.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Missed Home Plate Appeal | crewumpires | Baseball | 7 | Mon May 19, 2008 11:22am |
| Missed Home Plate | Chess Ref | Softball | 20 | Fri May 09, 2008 12:07pm |
| 85% missed this one | lawump | Baseball | 69 | Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:23pm |
| Missed Home Plate | tibear | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 25, 2007 03:51pm |
| runner missed home plate | crumii | Softball | 5 | Tue Oct 05, 2004 05:41pm |