The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 29, 2008, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
It took a while, but this post settles it. I'm with TT.
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 29, 2008, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
A step and a reach

Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
The "dirt area" should not be used to determine whether or not a runner who missed home can come back and correct his mistake. As long as he has not reached his dugout, he is allowed to go back and touch home. If such runner reaches, but does not enter, the dugout, and is making an attempt to touch home, he must be tagged for the out.Even though the "dirt area" was included in the D3K senarios, it has no place in determining when a runner can correct his non-touch of home. The protest would/should be upheld if one should arise. We cannot make up arbitrary rules for which there is no support.
There are only two instances when a player cannot go back and touch home. One, as stated, when he has entered the dugout, and two, when a following runner has scored.
Omitting the possibility of a quick tag out or to acknowledge a proper appeal play in situation A is also an arbitrary ruling on your part.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Mon Dec 29, 2008 at 12:00pm.
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 29, 2008, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Three wrongs do not make a right. Omitting the possibility to acknowledge a proper appeal play in situation A is also an arbitrary ruling on your part.

I am tempted to respond with "nor do an infinite number (or 1130 to date) SA posts contain a right", but if I did, I'd have to delete my post.

Please, stop trying to stir the pot. The correct answer has been given.
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 29, 2008, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Three wrongs do not make a right. Omitting the possibility to acknowledge a proper appeal play in situation A is also an arbitrary ruling on your part.
I was only responding to your incorrect interpretation of being able to use the "dirt circle" as some imaginary boundary that prohibits a runner from returning to the plate. Acknowledging a proper appeal requires acknowledging and understanding the proper rules. I have no idea what you are trying to convey in "situation A." Merely standing on the plate and stating that they are appealing does not constitute a proper in and of itself.
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 29, 2008, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Coach, you are right about me ruling on the improper appeal being acceptable, but according to the AEA (Albert Einstein Annotated) concerning the relative time and space involved with this play, I stand my ground.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed Home Plate Appeal crewumpires Baseball 7 Mon May 19, 2008 11:22am
Missed Home Plate Chess Ref Softball 20 Fri May 09, 2008 12:07pm
85% missed this one lawump Baseball 69 Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:23pm
Missed Home Plate tibear Baseball 6 Wed Apr 25, 2007 03:51pm
runner missed home plate crumii Softball 5 Tue Oct 05, 2004 05:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1