The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
That base has not legally been attained by the B/R because R1 has not advanced (it's still R1's)(think of what happens when 2 runners occupy 1 base...who is out?...th)...therefore he has not reached first before the third out and no run scores
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
At the time of the pitch, bases were loaded which forces all runners to advance, no matter what. This means that the fly ball caught is the 3rd out, no run scores because the BR did not attain 1st base. The situation with R1 not running means absolutely nothing here.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2008, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Think it through

Guys... this is easy. It is not passing until the ball is dropped and in play. B/R has not acquired a base yet. The passing is not the third out. The FIRM AND SECURE POSSESSION AND VOLUNTARY RELEASE of B/R fly ball is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Declared out vs. put out greymule Baseball 12 Sat Sep 15, 2007 04:15pm
declared out versus put out greymule Baseball 0 Thu Jun 22, 2006 08:49am
Interference supersedes obstruction? kellerumps Softball 20 Wed Feb 26, 2003 04:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1