![]() |
|
|||
That was Jeter's follow through that hit Buck....Now instead of being 1-1, its 1st and 2nd...wow
In any case, that didn't make it "1st and 2nd." It was Damon back to 1st with Jeter still up. The Yankees announcers didn't say anything about follow through or backswing at all. They said they couldn't understand the call, and later declared that they had received the ruling that on "inadvertent" interference, the runner returns with the batter still up. But what do they know? They thought that if Jeter had interfered, the runner would be out. I wish there were pictures of the play. No way it was "backswing," though you could argue that Jeter's "follow through" carried him out over the plate to cause the contact (which would likely be INT). Remember that 6.06 (c) mentions the backswing hitting the catcher or the ball before the catcher has securely held the ball. This contact occurred on the throw to 2B, well after Buck secured the ball.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
back pick, give a step, does anyone call this today | boiseball | Basketball | 22 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 02:53pm |
Tough call for me today | DTQ_Blue | Baseball | 33 | Wed May 09, 2007 09:55am |
Tough call for me today | DTQ_Blue | Softball | 6 | Sat May 05, 2007 08:55pm |
Interference in the Yankees-Royals game? | greymule | Baseball | 12 | Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:08am |
Twins/Royals last night | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 12 | Fri Jul 07, 2006 01:05pm |