The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 10, 2008, 03:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Another Balk Question

While watching a high school summer league game the following occurred.

Count of 1-2, with a R2. The pitcher did not come set before the pitch, BU called “Balk,” pitch is hit, a chopper to F5 who looks R2 back to second, throws to first but BR beats the throw. BU then places BR at first and R2 at third. DC, BU and PU conference and R2 is moved back to second, BR remains at first. I overheard catcher ask PU what the ruling was and PU told him BR gets first due to hit, R2 goes back to second due to not advancing on hit. Never heard anything from the OC questioning the movement of his players.

I’m new to Umpiring but after 14 years of coaching I would have had a few things to say to the PU & BU if I have the rules correct which I guess they are playing FED rules. Since R2 did not advance on the play shouldn’t the outcome have been R2 to third and BR back to the plate with a 1-2 count?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balk question TwoBits Baseball 12 Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:58am
Balk question JR12 Baseball 5 Thu May 24, 2007 11:16am
Question of a Balk GerryBlue Baseball 1 Wed Mar 24, 2004 01:32pm
To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. chuckfan1 Baseball 21 Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm
Balk Question CDcoach Baseball 11 Fri May 23, 2003 05:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1