The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 10, 2008, 03:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Another Balk Question

While watching a high school summer league game the following occurred.

Count of 1-2, with a R2. The pitcher did not come set before the pitch, BU called “Balk,” pitch is hit, a chopper to F5 who looks R2 back to second, throws to first but BR beats the throw. BU then places BR at first and R2 at third. DC, BU and PU conference and R2 is moved back to second, BR remains at first. I overheard catcher ask PU what the ruling was and PU told him BR gets first due to hit, R2 goes back to second due to not advancing on hit. Never heard anything from the OC questioning the movement of his players.

I’m new to Umpiring but after 14 years of coaching I would have had a few things to say to the PU & BU if I have the rules correct which I guess they are playing FED rules. Since R2 did not advance on the play shouldn’t the outcome have been R2 to third and BR back to the plate with a 1-2 count?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 10, 2008, 03:44am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,159
FED rules are simple. A balk is an immediate dead ball and all runners advance one base. There is no "if the runners advance" part of FED Rules. The count would stay the same as there is no pitch on a balk. That is of course if they are playing under FED Rules.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 10, 2008, 05:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 116
Under OBR the result would be the same (R2 at 3rd and BR with same count) as both BR and and any other runners did not advance at least 1 base on the pitch after the balk.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2008, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
"Never heard anything from the OC questioning the movement of his players."

Heck no, now his .097 hitting, # 9 guy, is on 1B, instead of & 2 strikes.

OBR, had R2 advanced "on the throw", I'd a left em R3, R1.

Does NCAA stay live?
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2008, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike
"Never heard anything from the OC questioning the movement of his players."

Heck no, now his .097 hitting, # 9 guy, is on 1B, instead of & 2 strikes.

OBR, had R2 advanced "on the throw", I'd a left em R3, R1
That would be correct becuase everyone advanced at least one base on the play.

Quote:
Does NCAA stay live?
This NCAA rule is the same as the OBR rule
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2008, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
FED is the only code where a balk is an automatic dead ball. Makes things interesting for those of us who work the other codes as well.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2008, 07:17pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
FED is simple, as other posters have said...if you have a balk...everything stops period.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2008, 10:11pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Red face Oops, I did it again...

I had originally misread the OP, and incorrectly answered the question concerning OBR. I thought that the BR did not advance at least one base.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2008, 10:22pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
so in this sitch, since the BR reaches but R2 doesn't advance at least one base...do you keep the BR @ 1B,then move R2 to 3b...?? OBR/NCAA interp
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2008, 05:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
so in this sitch, since the BR reaches but R2 doesn't advance at least one base...do you keep the BR @ 1B,then move R2 to 3b...?? OBR/NCAA interp
No. Since R2 didn't advance, the ball is dead and the balk must be enforced. Put the batter back in the box (no pitch) and award R2 3rd base.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2008, 10:14am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
could the coach take the play, leaving it R2 and R1? or is that not an option in this sitch?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2008, 10:26am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
could the coach take the play, leaving it R2 and R1? or is that not an option in this sitch?
A balk is never, NEVER an option play, although coaches (and unfortunately some umpires) think it is. Catcher's interference IS an option play, which is where I think the confusion lies, for some reason.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2008, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

As a matter of fact, I believe there are only 3 situations under OBR rules where a manager can choose the result of the play or the penalty. As Rich says, a balk ain't one of them, while Catcher's Interference MAY be one, depending on the result of the play.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2008, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
As a matter of fact, I believe there are only 3 situations under OBR rules where a manager can choose the result of the play or the penalty. As Rich says, a balk ain't one of them, while Catcher's Interference MAY be one, depending on the result of the play.

JM
Let me see if I can do this:

1. Catcher's interference and a play follows where the batter does not reach first and all runners don't advance at least one base

2. Pitcher doctors ball and a play follows where the batter does not reach first and all runners don't advance at least one base

3. The fourth out where an appeal play is made on a play where the third out is made and the coach has the option of taking the out that gives them the bigger advantage.

How did I do?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2008, 09:56pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
A balk is never, NEVER an option play, although coaches (and unfortunately some umpires) think it is. Catcher's interference IS an option play, which is where I think the confusion lies, for some reason.
thank you. i'd rather ask and learn on here versus get it wrong on the field.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balk question TwoBits Baseball 12 Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:58am
Balk question JR12 Baseball 5 Thu May 24, 2007 11:16am
Question of a Balk GerryBlue Baseball 1 Wed Mar 24, 2004 01:32pm
To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. chuckfan1 Baseball 21 Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm
Balk Question CDcoach Baseball 11 Fri May 23, 2003 05:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1