The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Another Balk Question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/47074-another-balk-question.html)

Hemibee Sun Aug 10, 2008 03:32am

Another Balk Question

While watching a high school summer league game the following occurred.

Count of 1-2, with a R2. The pitcher did not come set before the pitch, BU called “Balk,” pitch is hit, a chopper to F5 who looks R2 back to second, throws to first but BR beats the throw. BU then places BR at first and R2 at third. DC, BU and PU conference and R2 is moved back to second, BR remains at first. I overheard catcher ask PU what the ruling was and PU told him BR gets first due to hit, R2 goes back to second due to not advancing on hit. Never heard anything from the OC questioning the movement of his players.

I’m new to Umpiring but after 14 years of coaching I would have had a few things to say to the PU & BU if I have the rules correct which I guess they are playing FED rules. Since R2 did not advance on the play shouldn’t the outcome have been R2 to third and BR back to the plate with a 1-2 count?

JRutledge Sun Aug 10, 2008 03:44am

FED rules are simple. A balk is an immediate dead ball and all runners advance one base. There is no "if the runners advance" part of FED Rules. The count would stay the same as there is no pitch on a balk. That is of course if they are playing under FED Rules.

Peace

Ump29 Sun Aug 10, 2008 05:47am

Under OBR the result would be the same (R2 at 3rd and BR with same count) as both BR and and any other runners did not advance at least 1 base on the pitch after the balk.

soundedlikeastrike Sun Aug 17, 2008 02:12pm

"Never heard anything from the OC questioning the movement of his players."

Heck no, now his .097 hitting, # 9 guy, is on 1B, instead of & 2 strikes.

OBR, had R2 advanced "on the throw", I'd a left em R3, R1.

Does NCAA stay live?