The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 22, 2008, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Rich,

The times, they are achangin'. A dislodged bag is no longer a base for following runners. Here's part of rule 7.07 (c) as given in the 2008 RIM:

7.07 (c) APPROVED RULING: (2) If a base is dislodged from its position during a play, any following runner on the same play shall be considered as touching or occupying the base if, in the umpire’s judgment, that runner touches or occupies the point marked by the dislodged base.

The 2006 Green Book (the latest one I have handy) reads "that runner touches or occupies the dislodged bag, or the point marked by the dislodged base.

The older rule 7.07(c) had conflicted with Rule 1.06, but now is consistent. 1.06 clarifies that both the fielder and the runner should use the base point.

1.06 NOTE (1): If the impact of a runner breaks a base loose from its position, no play can be made on that runner at that base, if the runner had reached the base safely. If there is continual action involving a subsequent runner, the base plate becomes the actual base for rending of the umpire's decision.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 23, 2008, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Reed
Rich,

The times, they are achangin'. A dislodged bag is no longer a base for following runners. Here's part of rule 7.07 (c) as given in the 2008 RIM:

7.07 (c) APPROVED RULING: (2) If a base is dislodged from its position during a play, any following runner on the same play shall be considered as touching or occupying the base if, in the umpire’s judgment, that runner touches or occupies the point marked by the dislodged base.

The 2006 Green Book (the latest one I have handy) reads "that runner touches or occupies the dislodged bag, or the point marked by the dislodged base.

The older rule 7.07(c) had conflicted with Rule 1.06, but now is consistent. 1.06 clarifies that both the fielder and the runner should use the base point.

1.06 NOTE (1): If the impact of a runner breaks a base loose from its position, no play can be made on that runner at that base, if the runner had reached the base safely. If there is continual action involving a subsequent runner, the base plate becomes the actual base for rending of the umpire's decision.

The 2008 green book still has the dislodged base part in the AR for the rule.

How do you touch the base plate if there is no base plate? We (as do most in our area) use the SoftTouch bases which don't have a base plate - they have a 7" square box in the ground that the base mounts into.


BTW, it's 7.08(c)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner Missing 1st base on a force play UmpJordan Baseball 74 Tue Aug 10, 2021 09:30am
(FED) Missing a base DOES NOT remove the force Illini_Ref Baseball 16 Fri May 16, 2008 03:31pm
Missed Base force or not ? JeffS Baseball 2 Mon Jul 14, 2003 02:33pm
Detached base Alan G Baseball 2 Sun Apr 28, 2002 08:00am
Detached Equiptment dan_renninger Baseball 4 Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1