![]() |
|
|||
|
OK - trying to clarify this rule.
YES - I am a 11 year old coach - we get this situation a lot. R1 and R3. Lots of times the R1 will take off when our pitcher raises his leg trying to draw the throw so the R3 can score when we throw to 2B to get the out. I understand that our pitcher can spin toward 2B (continuous motion and no movement toward the plate) and throw to 2B. This is an attempt to make the play on the runner. Is this a balk? What if the R1 stops and goes back toward 1B? A R3 should not make any difference - correct? In youth legue baseball many coaches don't teach the fact that a pitcher has to make a movement toward home before they should try and steal. Often, (with RHP) - they steal on first movement of pitcher. We should be able to just spin and throw toward 2B - correct? |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Things I learned this weekend...... | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 16 | Thu Oct 13, 2005 02:05pm |
| Things I have learned | CentralINRef | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 01:43am |
| Learned something last night watching the Texas UCLA game... | AlabamaBlue | Softball | 1 | Mon May 26, 2003 05:41pm |
| Lesson Learned | Todd VandenAkker | Basketball | 14 | Tue Feb 15, 2000 02:31pm |