The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jun 10, 2008, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
All of us are newbies at one point. I have plenty of experience umpiring varsity games. I am asking the question to see how umpires who regularly officiate Legion ball interpret the rules (different than FED). How could I gain the experience if I never step on the field? I'm not going to find the answer to my question in a rule book!
Your right, but I encourage you to go beyond the rule books, there are many, many other articles and books both on and off the internet that talk about umpiring mechaincs, techiniques and phlosophy. Seek them out and read them with an open mind and develope a style that works for the leagues you work and associations you work for.

Good Luck
Old Tue Jun 10, 2008, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rei
So I suppose you let the runners touch the bag with the "neighborhood play" too correct?

Tell me, how close is close enough? 2"? 6"? 3'?

Call what you see. It is REALLY good for your integrity.
Well, Rei, I've been calling this for almost 30 years and I've never received a complaint. I do not do as some of our former (MLB) brothers have - almost 2 feet off the bag is not where I call it.

The best description I can give you is about a step off the bag. Pretty much what was taught in the late seventies in pro school. I've called this from HS through adult levels and never gave it much thought. Again, in this area, it is the expected call and the players work hard at getting just close enough.