The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 131
I had this situation happen to me tonight.

U14 game, FED rules, batter squares to bunt. Pitch is inside, batter pulls his bat infront of his body (toward the pitchers mound) and tries to turn out of the way. The pitch hits him in his hands. I, PU, award the batter first base. The opposing coach disagreed, saying that since he still had his bat out as if he were bunting (but while trying to avoid the pitch), that it should be a foul ball. I discussed this with my partner, and we still awarded the batter first base. Between innings, the opposing coach came out to discuss this with me again, and he said "But aren't the hands part of the bat?" I said "No, coach they aren't". And that was all that was said.

Now looking at the rule book, it states that the batter is awarded if a pitch hits any part of his body (exception - if he doesn't try to move out of the way). I believe i got this call correct. Can anyone confirm this or put in their judgment?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Let them play" part two ABO77 Basketball 12 Fri Dec 21, 2007 07:49pm
The 3 versus 2 fallacies, a mini-rant - "Part deux" imaref Basketball 6 Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39am
Double Foul with "Dirty Hands" Stripe Football 5 Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1