![]() |
|
|||
Balk called on catcher being out of box
A friend of mine who is a volunteer umpire in a local rec league was working base in a tournament U12 game this weekend. He told me that the UIC called a balk because the catcher set up off of the plate to receive a pitch. Apparently quite a ways off and he thought it was outside of the catcher’s box. I have seen the ankle biters do this. I don't know why they do it, poor coaching I suppose. He apparently warned the catcher first and then called it. I told my friend that this is really reaching for the dirty end of the stick.
I looked up the rule 8.05 (l), and it says that this is only a balk when giving an intentional base on balls. So in actuality this could never be a balk because this was not an IBOB. It did get me to thinking more about this. If a catcher was receiving a pitch on a IBOB, would he have to be completely out of the catcher’s box, or just have one foot out to balk. It's most likely in my J/R but I don't have it right now. BTW, I catagorize this as one of those balks that you shouldn't call. I warn the catcher to not step out too quickly. Why grab the dirty end of the stick.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that." Last edited by Forest Ump; Thu Jun 26, 2008 at 08:31pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Would you have called a balk? | BigUmp56 | Baseball | 33 | Thu May 03, 2007 04:42am |
Balk called when turning shoulders | Forest Ump | Baseball | 6 | Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:24pm |
Balk Called, is it accurate? | Coach AJ | Baseball | 3 | Mon Aug 08, 2005 02:28pm |
Appeal/Balk Called (OBR) | Lapopez | Baseball | 41 | Sun Jul 25, 2004 01:45pm |
Should I have called catcher obstruction? | Dakota | Softball | 2 | Wed Jun 12, 2002 07:40pm |