The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2005, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Clarification would be appreciated.

Situation: Runner on second base, batter at the plate.

Issue: Pitcher legally delivers called strike, and receives ball back from catcher, at the front of the mound, but still on the dirt portion. Pitcher turns, starts back to the rubber. Without reaching the rubber, the pitcher throws to the shortstop, who is in his normal straight-away fielding position, and the shortstop then chases the runner, who is leading, back to second base. Umpire calls a balk, saying the pitcher threw to a position player and not to an occupied base.

Our claim is since the pitcher never returned to the rubber, he should be allowed to throw to the shortstop. There is no issue with deceiving the runner, since the pitcher did not return to the rubber to face the batter. Are we right?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1