![]() |
|
|||
Scoring the play (FED)
I know most of us don't worry about how a play is scored but here are a couple situations that was brought up to me a week ago. I've been chewing on the situations and different with the official book on what it was ruled.
------ Situation #1: R1 on first with one out. BR bunts the ball to the left side of the infield for an obvious sacrifice. The F5 (or F6) {I don't remember which fielder ![]() Official Scorebook: FC + Sac for the batter-runner. My interpretation: A sacrifice bunt, by definition, is "...a bunt which enables any runner to advance...[T]he result is the batter-runner being put out before he reaches first base, or would have resulted in his being put out if the batted ball had been fielded without error..." (FED 2-31) Therefore, since an error did not occur and the BR was not put out, this is just a plain old FC or infield hit. Since the scorebook, in his opinion, thought the BR would have made it to first successfully, I would determine it to be a 1b BU. Your thoughts? ----- Situation #2: R1 on second and R2 on first with one out. (a) F1 throws a wild pitch that skips past the catcher. (b) F2 fails to stop a pitched ball that in the scorebook's opinion could have been stopped with ordinary effort (in other words, there is a PB). In both cases, R1 and R2 attempt to advance after seeing the pitch evade F2. F2 hustles back to the ball and fires a blazing shot to F5 to retire R1. "You're out of there!" Official Scorebook: R1: 2-6 WP/PB R2: advances on FC My interpretation: By definition, a PB "...is a pitch which F2 fails to stop of control when he should have been able to do so with ordinary effort, and which enables a runner including the BR to advance." (FED 2-26) Since a runner was retired on the play, I don't believe you can charge a PB to F2 no matter how you look at it. "A wild pitch is one which cannot be handled by [F2] with ordinary effort" (FED 2-41). However, I think one could argue a PB has occurred even though R1 has been retired. I would rule this as follows, however: R1: 2-5 CS R2: Advanced on the play Any thoughts? -Josh |
|
|||
scenario 1 = fielder's choice
scenario 2 = advanced on the wild pitch/passed ball. but the above posters on here are correct...most umps don't really care about how plays are scored.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() -Josh |
|
|||
Someone on eteamz (Atlanta Blue, maybe?) does a lot of scoring, so he might be of some help.
There used to be a site called something like baseballscorecard.com where this kind of stuff was debated. You might see if it's still around. |
|
|||
Quote:
I appreciate the help. Really I was just curious. I'm not too concerned about it. Thought I would just throw it out there and see if anyone had an opinion. -Josh |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Fouls on Scoring Play | FredFan7 | Football | 30 | Thu Jul 26, 2007 05:41pm |
Scoring: 3rd out timing play | Cavman | Baseball | 6 | Mon Jul 03, 2006 01:20pm |
Foul on scoring play | ljudge | Football | 11 | Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:20pm |
Fouls on a Scoring Play | FredFan7 | Football | 3 | Tue Jan 04, 2005 02:46pm |
penalty on scoring play | Michael Simpson | Football | 18 | Sun Oct 12, 2003 09:23am |