The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 29, 2008, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The NCAA ruling on the second play (173-320) has been changed, I think -- it's only interference if the pop-up slide is "into the fielder" -- and I don't read that in the play.
You are correct on the first count, ie, the NCAA rule has changed, but incorrect on the second count. Below I reproduce 8-4-b from the NCAA rule book.

Rule 8
Force-Play-Slide Rule
SECTION 4.
b. Contact with a fielder is legal and interference shall not be called if the runner makes a legal slide directly to the base and in the baseline extended (see diagram).
A.R.—If contact occurs on top of the base as a result of a “pop-up” slide, this contact is legal.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 29, 2008, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
b. does not legally slide and causes illegal contact and/or illegally alters the actions of a fielder in the immediate act of making a play, or on a force play, does not slide in a direct line between the bases; or PENALTY: The runner is out, the ball is dead immediately, and interference is called. On a force-play slide with less than two outs, the runner is declared out, as well as the batter-runner. Runners shall return to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch. With two outs, the runner is declared out. The batter is credited with a fielder’s choice.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 29, 2008, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli
You are correct on the first count, ie, the NCAA rule has changed, but incorrect on the second count. Below I reproduce 8-4-b from the NCAA rule book.

Rule 8
Force-Play-Slide Rule
SECTION 4.
b. Contact with a fielder is legal and interference shall not be called if the runner makes a legal slide directly to the base and in the baseline extended (see diagram).
A.R.—If contact occurs on top of the base as a result of a “pop-up” slide, this contact is legal.
Yeah -- I don't know what the heck I was thinking / posting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fpsr fmsc Baseball 9 Tue Oct 17, 2006 09:03am
Nfhs Fpsr @ Hp Tim C Baseball 28 Thu Apr 27, 2006 02:23am
FPSR BigUmp56 Baseball 2 Tue Nov 22, 2005 09:47am
FPSR? thumpferee Baseball 3 Mon Apr 18, 2005 05:46pm
FPSR violation? Kaliix Baseball 3 Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1