![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
6.11 BATTER INTERFERES AFTER THIRD STRIKE NOT CAUGHT Official Baseball Rule 7.09(a) provides that the batter-runner be called out for interference if "after a third strike he hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball." Play: First base unoccupied or two out. Strike three not caught. Batter-runner unintentionally kicks, touches, or otherwise deflects the pitched ball that was not caught by the catcher. Catcher is unable to make a play. Ruling: If this occurs in the vicinity of home plate, the ball is alive and in play. However, if this occurs up the first base line (where the batter-runner has had time to avoid the ball), interference is called, the batter-runner declared out, and runners return to base occupied at time of pitch. (See Approved Ruling (8) in Section 6.23.) As the OP said the ball was ". . approx 2-3 feet up the line . ." I think the "vicinity of home plate" part applies.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
![]()
Thanks Rich!
What happened to the "up the line" part of the MLBUM ruling and the "catcher is unable to make a play"? I still believe the ruling is with the BR and not his bat. I know I read somewhere where the bat was involved in a sitch like this. Maybe it was a LL rule book. Where is Tim C when you need him ![]()
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter Interference | Tweet | Baseball | 7 | Mon Aug 13, 2007 06:30pm |
Batter interference | NickG | Baseball | 8 | Sat Jun 17, 2006 02:54pm |
Batter Interference | HardtailStrat | Softball | 7 | Thu Jul 07, 2005 02:41pm |
Batter Interference? | MichaelVA2000 | Baseball | 2 | Mon Jul 28, 2003 07:35am |
Batter Interference | His High Holiness | Baseball | 4 | Fri Jun 21, 2002 10:22pm |