![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Take your OP, F2 catches the ball, drops it of his own volition BUT IMMEDIATELY picks it up and tags the runner. Are you going to call OBS? To me this is no different then a fielder mis-playing a batted ball. At what point does the fielder lose protection? The "rule-of-thumb" is "step and reach" meaning if the fielder is within a step and reach of the batted ball and say R1 collides with F4, R1 would still be called for interference as opposed to F4 chasing a lose ball and collides with R1 F4 would be guilty of OBS. Therefore, I do not think one can make a blanket statement about F2 dropping the ball. In reading the OP I believe the term Quote:
To get clarification why don't you send the NFHS the play I presented and see what their rule would be? Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
FED OBS Query | JJ | Baseball | 28 | Sun Mar 16, 2008 04:19pm |
FB playoff query........ | zebra44 | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 28, 2003 06:52pm |
Query on difficult calls (2) | sportswriter | Football | 4 | Tue Sep 17, 2002 01:17pm |
Warm-up query | JJ | Baseball | 3 | Tue Apr 16, 2002 08:52pm |
2001 Fed case book query | oregonblue | Baseball | 1 | Fri Feb 16, 2001 08:21am |