The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by rngrck
I worked a couple of games over the weekend and noticed that most of the kids pitching were starting the wind-ups with their non pivot foot in front and/or on side of plate. We let most of this go,but wouldn't this be an infraction from the wind up position??
If the non-pivot foot is on or behind a line EXTENDING through the front of the rubber, it's a wind-up position. If the back of the heel of the non-pivot foot is against the rubber, consider this to be "on" the line, and, thus in the wind-up.

If the entire non-pivot foot is in front of that line, it's the set position.

Note that in neither case must the non-pivot foot be directly in front of the rubber.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 03:46pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
If the non-pivot foot is on or behind a line EXTENDING through the front of the rubber, it's a wind-up position. If the back of the heel of the non-pivot foot is against the rubber, consider this to be "on" the line, and, thus in the wind-up.

If the entire non-pivot foot is in front of that line, it's the set position.

Note that in neither case must the non-pivot foot be directly in front of the rubber.
6-1-3 Straight from the FED rule book:

Before starting his delivery, he shall stand with his entire non-pivot foot in front of a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher of the pitcher's plate and with with his entire pivot foot in contact with or directly in front of the pitcher plate.

This to me has always signified the pitcher is given special permission to contact the front of pitcher's plate in the set position only. 6-1-2 gives no mention of how a pitcher is to contact the rubber. I've seen the slide presentations Tee mentions, so I feel something is amiss somewhere.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Note : these kids were pitching in the wind up motion with their non pivot foot way in front of the plate. I believe per NFHS rules, this is a violation. Are you saying we should let this go as long as the foot is near the plate?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 04:11pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by rngrck
Note : these kids were pitching in the wind up motion with their non pivot foot way in front of the plate. I believe per NFHS rules, this is a violation. Are you saying we should let this go as long as the foot is near the plate?
aren't they going to simply step further back anyway w/ their non-pivot foot if they start out that far in front?? the best pitchers in baseball take a very small step backward in their windup...if kids are doing this, it sounds more like a coaching problem to me than an umpire issue
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
And most pitching coaches follow OBR which now officially permits this windup position. (We ignored it in the past anyway but now it's in the book).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 11:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalblue1
And most pitching coaches follow OBR which now officially permits this windup position. (We ignored it in the past anyway but now it's in the book).
Yeah, but we could still call that a set position since it definitely looks like a set position.

I think what the rule change was trying to say was that the free foot can be SLIGHTLY in front of the rubber.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 04:09pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
okay, the pitcher isn't going to step directly on the pitcher's plate either wind-up or stretch...to anybody who has ever pitched before, know that while the pitcher may start in contacting a part of the rubber, essentially they're pushing off of the part below the dirt...to me, unless I'm visualizing this incorrectly seems a bit like over officiating to me.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
Agree Johnny, but I'm talking about the wind up motion here only.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
6-1-3 Straight from the FED rule book:

Before starting his delivery, he shall stand with his entire non-pivot foot in front of a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher of the pitcher's plate and with with his entire pivot foot in contact with or directly in front of the pitcher plate.

This to me has always signified the pitcher is given special permission to contact the front of pitcher's plate in the set position only. 6-1-2 gives no mention of how a pitcher is to contact the rubber. I've seen the slide presentations Tee mentions, so I feel something is amiss somewhere.
I'm not quite sure I understand what you are saying, but I think you are reading something into the rule that isn't there.

For the wind-up position, the *entire* pivot foot need not be on or in front of the rubber. For the set position it must be (that's the second caluse of the sentence you quote). See 6.1.1A
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 04:22pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'm not quite sure I understand what you are saying, but I think you are reading something into the rule that isn't there.

For the wind-up position, the *entire* pivot foot need not be on or in front of the rubber. For the set position it must be (that's the second caluse of the sentence you quote). See 6.1.1A
yes.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Steve:

The rule clarification was meant to stop pitchers from doing stuff like this and calling it a "wind up":

https://www.eofficials.com/ESO_Repos...tin%20%204.swf
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2008, 10:31pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'm not quite sure I understand what you are saying, but I think you are reading something into the rule that isn't there.

For the wind-up position, the *entire* pivot foot need not be on or in front of the rubber. For the set position it must be (that's the second clause of the sentence you quote). See 6.1.1A
I understand what you're saying, but the only case play that addresses it is 6.1.1 SITUATION A. All other case plays use the phrase, "F1 steps on the pitcher's plate". What I was getting at was, the only time the pitcher may legally contact the front of the rubber is from the set. The few times I've seen a pitcher start a windup with his heel up against the plate, they lose contact with the rubber during their deliveries way before they should.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 04, 2008, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
The few times I've seen a pitcher start a windup with his heel up against the plate, they lose contact with the rubber during their deliveries way before they should.
Then it's a balk (or illegal pitch) for pitching while not in contact with the rubber. The startign position, though, is legal, and if the pitcher maintains contact (and it's easy to do so), then the pitch is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 04, 2008, 02:18am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
6-1-3 Straight from the FED rule book:

Before starting his delivery, he shall stand with his entire non-pivot foot in front of a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher of the pitcher's plate and with with his entire pivot foot in contact with or directly in front of the pitcher plate.

This to me has always signified the pitcher is given special permission to contact the front of pitcher's plate in the set position only. 6-1-2 gives no mention of how a pitcher is to contact the rubber. I've seen the slide presentations Tee mentions, so I feel something is amiss somewhere.
I think we went through a similar discussion with you on this subject on another site. You are saying that because it says that in the set position, you need to be on the front edge of the rubber, then it must mean that you cannot be there from the windup. This is not what the rule says. 6-1-3 says you must stand that way in the set position. It doesn't say that you can't also stand that same way in the windup. Just because a rule allows or mandates something for one instance, it doesn't necessarily mean that it prohibits such action in another instance. That is just faulty logic, again. You certainly can work the windup with your pivot foot against the front edge of the rubber. I've seen it happen on all levels.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 04, 2008, 03:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
I think we went through a similar discussion with you on this subject on another site. You are saying that because it says that in the set position, you need to be on the front edge of the rubber, then it must mean that you cannot be there from the windup. This is not what the rule says. 6-1-3 says you must stand that way in the set position. It doesn't say that you can't also stand that same way in the windup. Just because a rule allows or mandates something for one instance, it doesn't necessarily mean that it prohibits such action in another instance. That is just faulty logic, again. You certainly can work the windup with your pivot foot against the front edge of the rubber. I've seen it happen on all levels.
Steve,

A legal windup position requires the pitcher to face the batter (Shoulders square to HP in NCAA speak). If F1 doesn't do that it's a stretch position.

While many umpires ignored this in the past, think about the unfair advantage in allowing this position with R3. I'm not talking about a minor technical balk as that can easily be OOO.

The NCAA video is a perfect example of a non-legal windup in all rule sets.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windup position - position of pivot foot BigGuy Baseball 3 Thu May 31, 2007 02:21am
1B pivot p.s. Paul L Baseball 6 Fri Sep 29, 2006 08:08am
Pivot Foot - Violation? JLC Basketball 1 Fri Feb 03, 2006 09:40am
pivot foot ROMANO Basketball 5 Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:39am
lifting the pivot foot erikengquist Basketball 13 Wed Nov 13, 2002 03:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1