![]() |
|
|
|||
True
Quote:
Quote:
Rule 7.08 - Any runner is out when - (d) failing to retouch the base after a fair or foul fly ball is legally caught before that runner or the base is legally tagged by a fielder. ... This is an appeal play Mr. Umpire, I appeal to your best judgment, that the answer is actually true, as witnessed by 85% of the umpires. Last edited by SAump; Fri Feb 15, 2008 at 11:45pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Official Notes - Case Book - Comments: A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder, even though juggled, or held by another fielder before it touches the ground. Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball. A fielder may reach over a fence, railing, rope or other line of demarcation to make a catch. He may jump on top of a railing, or canvas that may be in foul ground. No interference should be allowed when a fielder reaches over a fence, railing, rope or into a stand to catch a ball. He does so at his own risk. If a fielder, attempting a catch at the edge of the dugout, is "held up" and kept from an apparent fall by a player or players of either team and the catch is made, it shall be allowed. Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
About that question
Quote:
I argue that the moment a first fielder touches the ball usually takes place at the same time the ball was caught, not juggled, nor tipped. Now, if we decide that a catch is not possible upon first touch, I suppose there is some other possible rule modification in order here. If there is nothing in the question to indicate a ball is juggled or tipped, then a runner may leave as soon as the ball is caught. I understand that the FED rule requires a runner touch the base after the fly ball is first touched by a fielder. Somebody at the FED level is trying very hard to make their rule interpretation look different too. I agree that FED 8-4-2 interpretation is different than OBR 7.08d in a literal sense. But from what I have retouched upon so far; it aint so, Joe. Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 16, 2008 at 09:54pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
A catch happens (is confirmed) some discernable time after the ball is touched. Even on a liner to F6, I'd guess that it's .5 seconds or so. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed Base | jimpiano | Softball | 17 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 01:23pm |
missed tag play | Blue19 | Baseball | 22 | Mon Jun 06, 2005 03:28pm |
My First Fight -- And I Missed It | rainmaker | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 10, 2004 05:44pm |
Missed spotting a Three | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 18, 2003 01:41am |
Missed request. Two-man. | mick | Basketball | 67 | Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:09am |