The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 19, 2008, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
SAC Fly Situation

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
Half of the questions on the test are based on a direct quotation of the rule. This is about as straight forward a question as possible. For anybody to suggest this question is True better go back and read the entire rule book. The basic reason the answer is false is that caught only describes the final result, not the method to the final result. If the guy bobbles it 10 times before finally securing it for a catch, a runner tagging up from first could probably make it around the bases by the time the fielder finally secures it and meeting the requirements for a catch. If you say catch is the requirement, a fielder could bobble the ball all the way into the infield and a runner could never advance. That's why they write the questions the way they do - to make sure you read and understand the question and apply the rules properly.
The object of the game is for the defense to catch the ball and throw the runner out.
1) a fielder sometimes doesn't make a catch right away.
2) a fielder may bobble the ball to keep a runner from advancing.
3) a runner has to wait until the ball was "finally" caught.

Last edited by SAump; Tue Feb 19, 2008 at 10:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 19, 2008, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawump
85% of our membership missed this True/False question on the Fed Test:

If a fair batted ball is caught, a runner shall touch his base after the batted ball has been caught by a fielder.

The 85% said "true".

What do you all think?

When I first saw this question, I thought, "I'll bet there will be a number of umpires answer this without thinking and miss it."

I was right. This is straight out of the rule book...no tricks intended or offered. No offense, but the only reason for missing it is thinking that it's too easy to have to think about. About 5% missed it in my group.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 22, 2008, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Hey English majors

Compare the FED rulebook,
Quote:
If a fair batted ball is caught, a runner shall touch his base after the batted ball has touched a fielder.
Quote:
When a runner, who is returning to touch a base after a batted ball has been caught is ...
with the question,
Quote:
If a fair batted ball is caught, a runner shall touch his base after the batted ball has been caught by a fielder.
Note, the ball has been caught. Caught is past tense. The action has taken place.

Have you seen the NCAA compromise between FED types and OBR types?

Last edited by SAump; Fri Feb 22, 2008 at 07:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2008, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Warning:

The events in this post did not take place.
Our top dog talked about the situation during our pre-test discussion.
He recognized that he didn't have time to argue with 85% of the group.
He acknowledged that TRUE was the correct answer on the ballfield.
He told everyone to answer false on the test.
He doesn't care for the FED tactic either.
He completely agrees with post #3.
Quote:
I believe that the question is pure bull$hit for wording the way they did. It is not even a decent "trick question". I am getting tired of this kind of crap on FED tests. It's bad enough to "have to pass these test so you can work the season" but to have this bull$hit on the tests is becoming a joke. And there is no convincing me that this is a way to make you think - it's just bull$hit!
This may occur again before the exam takes place next year.
Two people in our association missed the question.
They were not paying attention.

Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 23, 2008 at 10:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Amazing

I was discussing the test with a high school umpire (and college this year) and mentioned that he needed to watch out for this question. I told him the question and he said it was true. I said that they could leave when the ball was touched. He told me they didn't have to tag up at all if it were juggled. I said they did.

He says, "That's Little League" I told him it was all codes. Then he seeks confirmation from another high school umpire. That umpire also agreed with him that the runner did not need to tag up if the ball were juggled.

He finally told me to email him the rule. I sent him for OBR, FED, and NCAA.

Sigh.

Umpire #2--three years, training with local association

Umpire #1--five years, training with local association

Me--10 years. Read the OBR straight through four times before starting. Western Region Little League umpire school, weeklong. Trained two years with NBUA in Seattle. Yearly training with District 1 Little League, which is better than the NBUA training. UIC and clinician for local league. Ask me a rules question, I can probably tell you rule number and maybe even whether it's on the right or left page of the book.

And they know this.

But hell what do I know.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 01:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
8.2.4. Sorry, you know that.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 01:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
8.2.4. Sorry, you know that.
That would be casebook. (The 2002 casebook doesn't have anything there.)

The rule is 8-2-4.

But I'm sure you knew that.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 01:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C
That would be casebook. (The 2002 casebook doesn't have anything there.)

The rule is 8-2-4.

But I'm sure you knew that.

Rita

They've put out six newer casebooks since then.

But I'm sure you knew that.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
They've put out six newer casebooks since then.

But I'm sure you knew that.
Why yes, I do. But I don't do high school ball. I had a set when my son was playing. That was 2002.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 10:23pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C
I had a set when my son was playing.
Somewhere in this sentence is a punchline just dying to be posted........
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed Base jimpiano Softball 17 Wed Mar 28, 2007 01:23pm
missed tag play Blue19 Baseball 22 Mon Jun 06, 2005 03:28pm
My First Fight -- And I Missed It rainmaker Basketball 12 Tue Feb 10, 2004 05:44pm
Missed spotting a Three Ref Daddy Basketball 4 Thu Dec 18, 2003 01:41am
Missed request. Two-man. mick Basketball 67 Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1