![]() |
|
|
|||
[QUOTE]
Quote:
Quote:
Now read the second part a runner shall touch his base after the batted ball has been caught by a fielder Bad wording I agree because as others mentioned the word "touched" should have been used not caught because the ball was Already caught. Bad wording but Sometimes I think we are all guilty of reading too much into it. There are 100 questions and you can pass with an 85. it's inevitable that a few of them are "shaky" but there is "wiggle room" to pass the test. Not all 100 questions are written this way. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
I don't think it's BS question at all...the rule doesn't say caught, it says touched...don't put your own words into the question and you'd get it right. 85% getting it wrong is a little scary...
I think the test should remain open book...isn't the objective to go through the rule book and learn the rules...that's the objective...not who can memorize the rules.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
All the arguing about what happened if the fielder touches the ball but doesn't catch it does not matter as the question clearly states that the ball was caught. The question has 2 parts: 1. If a fair batted ball is caught 2. the runner shall retouch his base after the ball is caught. One has to look at both parts in order to understand the question. The guy in your association only looked at the second part. |
|
|||
Quote:
LDUB is right, he's only debating half of the statement. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Rita |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day." ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Touch-Catch vs Leave-Touch?
Quote:
Option B: Runner may leave his base the instant fielder first touches the ball. True OP discusses option A, not option B, answer is true as defined in OBR 7.08D. Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 16, 2008 at 12:56am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Think about it...if it truly was a "catch" rule, coaches would be coaching thier kids to bobble the ball all the way into the infield to prevent any type of tag-up by the offense...that's why the rule is there...to protect the integrity of the game...and probably a few other reasons
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Think about it
Quote:
Does the FED question and rule 8-4-2 imply that a catch is not a secure grip of the baseball upon first touch? Think about it. A catch is not a catch... As for the rest of your logic, balderdash. Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 16, 2008 at 01:47pm. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Writing an effective test is a difficult thing to do. In my opinion, both the scope (breadth of material addressed, diversity and size of the test-taking population, administrive requirements) and purpose(es) of the FED Part 1 Baseball test increase the degree of difficulty. While I don't "know" this to be the case, I believe that the purposes of the FED exam include trying to insure a minimum level of rules competency among FED-licensed officials, encouraging officials to read/review the published rules materials, and calling attention to the rules which have been revised since the previous year. While it is easy to find flaws, all in all, I believe they do a decent job of achieving their aims. On to the question at hand - specifically, Q83. It seems that the primary objection to this question is that a person could know the rule (that a runner may meet his retouch obligation as soon as the first fielder makes the first touch of the ball, rather than having to wait until a legal catch is "proved") and still answer the question incorrectly. I would agree. lawump asserted that 85% of the members of his association answered the question incorrectly. I would be willing to bet that at least half of that 85% understood the rule. (Of course, I believe that lawump is from the Palmetto State, where they still have umps call runners out for appealable baserunning infractions without appeal - so I might be optimistic with that estimate... ![]() On the other hand, if you DON'T know the rule (that the runner may leave on the first touch), you will ALWAYS answer this question incorrectly. So, it's possible that 42.5% of lawump's assoc. didn't understand this point in the rules. In some ways, this question is testing the person's test-taking skills in addition to his rules knowledge. If you actually go and read the rule, the test answer becomes obvious. Now I don't believe test-taking skills contribute in any way to an umpire's competency. However, I believe an in-depth understanding of the rules and their application, even some things that are kind of "technical", does contribute to an umpire's overall competency. If you can't pass this test, you probably shouldn't be umpiring. If it upsets you to get a question marked wrong, well, then RTFM. ALL the answers are in the book(s), and it's an "open book" test. A couple of "discrepancies" in the answer key seem to appear every year. Mildly annoying, but it's not worth worrying about. Those are my thoughts. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
More than 1/2 of the 85% that missed this question know this rule. We had a bunch of Division 1 umpires missing this...and they all know it. Our test is "closed book". As you implired, for the vast majority, this was an "annoyance" as our association's average score was 92...by far, the highest in SC. And yes, we still do not have "appeals" in South Carolina high school baseball. (Well, except for checked swings that were adjudged to be a ball by the plate umpire.). As a result, I'm still waiting for this following play to happen to one of us (SC umpires) in a game: R1, hit-and-run, BR smokes it to the gap in right-center. R1 puts his head down and is well on his way to third...when F8 makes an unbelievable catch. F8 then fires to F3 to double-off R1, only with F8's adrenaline flowing after the great catch, he sails the throw into DBT. At the moment the ball goes into DBT, R1 is between second and third. If you read and understand FED Rule 8...and then realize that we have no appeal play in SC...you will understand the craphouse that the umpires in this game are going to have. It will happen someday, sometime. It has happened to several of our association members in non-high school games....eventually it will happen in high school. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day." ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed Base | jimpiano | Softball | 17 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 01:23pm |
missed tag play | Blue19 | Baseball | 22 | Mon Jun 06, 2005 03:28pm |
My First Fight -- And I Missed It | rainmaker | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 10, 2004 05:44pm |
Missed spotting a Three | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 18, 2003 01:41am |
Missed request. Two-man. | mick | Basketball | 67 | Sat Oct 04, 2003 10:09am |