The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
I hate the software that runs this board

Trust me I have read ALL the material that has been available too me.

If I remember correctly JJ you might have a greater contact to the NFHS Rules committee than I do, but trust me -- when I am at the NFHS offices February 8 I will ask Elliott directly.

That is not the NFHS interp that is being passed on by our state rules interpreter or the Official NFHS overheads.

Kyle was pretty clear in saying "if both are simply doing their job it is nothing."

But he also added: "Sometimes you just have to umpire."

Regards,

Last edited by Tim C; Wed Jan 23, 2008 at 08:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
Trust me I have read ALL the material that has been available too me.

If I remember correctly JJ you might have a greater contact to the NFHS Rules committee than I do, but trust me -- when I am at the NFHS offices February 8 I will ask Elliott directly.

That is not the NFHS interp that is being passed on by our state rules interpreter or the Official NFHS overheads.

Kyle was pretty clear in saying "if both are simply doing their job it is nothing."

But he also added: "Sometimes you just have to umpire."

Regards,
Tim,

The problem seems to be a wide disparity in how this is being interpreted at various levels. It would be great to have a single, solid interpretation from Elliott on this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Jim:

I really feel the issue that none of us can get our hands around is the term:

"Allow access to the base."

Without definitions this could mean a fielder could offer 1 inch, six inches, a foot or whatever and qualify as "giving access."

If you have a true "trainwreck" ANY contact would be deemed "obstruction" (i.e. the fielder is blocking access through contact) and it would be called. However, the power point presentation clearly states: "if both players are doing their jobs and there is contact, a trainwreck, then obstruction should not be called."

While I think it is crystal clear that trainwrecks are still acceptable and not penalized well thought of posters (JJ) feel otherwise.

Maybe their will be a clearly defined play when the early season interps come out on the NFHS website.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
I really feel the issue that none of us can get our hands around is the term:

"Allow access to the base."

Without definitions this could mean a fielder could offer 1 inch, six inches, a foot or whatever and qualify as "giving access."

If you have a true "trainwreck" ANY contact would be deemed "obstruction" (i.e. the fielder is blocking access through contact) and it would be called. However, the power point presentation clearly states: "if both players are doing their jobs and there is contact, a trainwreck, then obstruction should not be called."

While I think it is crystal clear that trainwrecks are still acceptable and not penalized well thought of posters (JJ) feel otherwise.

Maybe their will be a clearly defined play when the early season interps come out on the NFHS website.

Regards,
Tim,

Then give us YOUR opinion on the play at first that was discussed in the preseason guide (which was quoted above in this thread). I read it this past week and said to myself, "that's just a trainwreck." Then I read the correct ruling and it said "obstruction"...and my jaw dropped.

In my mind your report on the content of the NFHS overheads and the preseason report with the play at first contradict one another. Do YOU agree?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction question from the NFHS board BlitzkriegBob Softball 26 Tue Jan 08, 2008 07:21pm
NFHS Obstruction Question SC Ump Softball 25 Thu Feb 02, 2006 04:12pm
NFHS Obstruction Mechanics bossman72 Baseball 7 Thu Jul 28, 2005 08:33am
F1 as fielder and the LBR Dakota Softball 8 Sat Nov 20, 2004 09:28am
T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. Dakota Softball 2 Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1