![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't see where the confusion is. It is a freaking balk the way it is described. |
|
|||
![]()
rei,
Have you seen this, from the MLBUM: Quote:
Quote:
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]()
rei,
The NCAA and NFHS rule books (not to mention the OBR) do not say anything about the "Jab Step" move. The J/R quote above is from the "rule Differences Edition", which diligently notes differences between OBR and NCAA. There is no difference noted. This is the most authoritative opinion I have been able to find on the subject. Have you got anything other than your (mistaken) interpretation that it is illegal? JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]()
rei,
Been there, done that. Of course, reviewing the OBR balk rules could also lead one to the erroneous conclusion that a "jab step" move is illegal. BTW, are you in Tee's association? JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
Hmmm . . .
This is a great conversation.
Yes, I know Rei quite well. We work together once or twice a year. Rei also was the plate umpire for the State Championship game of Oregon's largest school classification this past spring. Rei is also a member of the college association and this is where this discussion started. I was with three members of the college group Wednesday night and our conversation came around to this specific issue. One of the leading college umpires in this small group said that he would balk the "jab step" EVERY TIME! Now Rei chimes in with the same feeling. This is why I asked the question and am totally confused. (Note: I have no idea what SAUmp is even saying in his "rising fastball" post -- facts are still facts, no matter what those words mean.) Regards, |
|
|||
Legal deception
Old rules limited the pitcher in the set position to stand facing the batter with the entire pivot foot on, or in front of, and in contact with, and not off the end of the pitcher's plate, and the other foot in front the pitcher's plate. Even as stiff as the old rules were, the jab step and jump turn were utilized by pitchers all over the country. There were never any balks called. IOW, I never heard NCAA umpire associations discuss the illegality of this practice prior this post. But now I understand Papa C's position regarding umpires posting on the internet and his decision not to participate.
From what I understand, this same rule has been recently modified to allow the pitcher to stand off the end of the plate while in contact with part of the pivot foot and to lift the restriction placed on the other free foot. I think this was part of the MLB decision to tighten the outer strike zone and a compromise to allow the pitcher an angle toward the plate. So my question is, when the RHP initiates his jab step to 3B, doesn't it actually land in a position that could also be utilized by the other free foot of a lefty standing on the 3B edge of the pitcher's plate? --------------- I wouldn't call a balk on RHP for placing his pivot foot in the same location a lefty would utilize in the set position. {24} or You called the balk. Go explain it to the coach now and see if he accepts your rationale or leaves his opinion on the field. {25} Last edited by SAump; Fri Jan 18, 2008 at 11:42pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
Quote:
In both the jump and jab step moves, the free foot moves toward 1st, and the pivot foot moves toward 3rd. The only arguable difference is, in the jump step, both feet are moved simultaneously, while in the jab step, the pivot foot leads by a fraction of a second. I can't see how the jab step is deceptive if the jump step is not. They are the same, save for (maybe) a fraction of a second difference in timing. FED does not say that the jump step entails simultaneous movement of the feet, nor does it say that the free foot must lead, only that F1 step towards 1st with the non-pivot foot while throwing there. What if F1 lifted both feet in a jump turn, but landed on his pivot foot a fraction of a second before stepping towards 1st with his free foot. Is that a balk? I don't think so. The choices: A. The rules don't specifically allow it, so it's a balk. B. The rules don't specifically prohibit it, so it's not a balk. I'll choose B. |
|
|||
Quote:
How does one's association call it. Example; In FED, there is the "gorilla" balk and years ago F1 could not check a runner. There were some associations who would not call this "technicality" a balk hence no call was made. Same with the Gorilla Balk. Therefore the REAL answer is What is the concenses in the association you work for. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
Quote:
My association goes by what our state interpreter says, not by consensus. Until he tells us the jab step is a balk, I ain't calling it. Our meeting with the interpreter is Feb. 2. I will bring up the subject and report back here. |
|
|||
Well . . .
One more rules set thinks it is OK:
I received an e-mail from Jim Paranto of the NCAA today. Jim's point is: "Tim, think about a right handed pitcher during the "fake to third and throw to first" pickoff move. The pivot foot disengages 'forward.' "The move you described is based along the same logic as this play. Have everyone reread 9-3b (1) (2) (3). "I hope this answers your question." Regards, |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Men of few words? | just another ref | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 30, 2007 02:07pm |
NFL Network: In Their Own Words | OverAndBack | Football | 4 | Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:40am |
short words | RUBIERA | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:12am |