![]() |
|
|
|||
It's not a balk IF F1 steps toward 1st with his free foot while throwing over. F1 is considered on the rubber since he has not disengaged, and neither a jab nor jump step is a legal way to disengage.
It's a balk if he doesn't throw, and only 1 base if he throws it away. FED permits a jump turn but is silent on a jab step. Until an interpreter tells me otherwise, I will treat them the same. [Edited to reflect JM's appropriate comment] Last edited by dash_riprock; Thu Jan 10, 2008 at 12:30pm. |
|
|||
dash,
You might want to reword that 1st sentence - it's pretty hard for a pitcher to balk after he's disengaged. Tim, In terms of convincing your association, that's a little trickier. The only explicit documentation I can find specific to the jab step (distinct from the jump turn) is in J/R. I have the "Rule Differences Edition" which, though framed in the context of OBR, notes FED/NCAA differences with footnoted references. On the discussion of the jab step, there is no difference noted for FED (or NCAA). While this is not "official interpretation", it certainly is "authoritative opinion". [Edited to add...] Also, IIRC, the Jim Evans balk video which, though again framed in the context of OBR is diligent in pointing out where FED differences exist, explains this as a legal move and makes no mention of anything being different in FED. [Edit done] Further, I might suggest that in both the jump turn and the jab step, the pitcher's pivot foot leaves the rubber in a way that is clearly NOT a legal disengage. So, the rules allow the pitcher's pivot foot to leave the rubber in a move treated as "from the rubber". The purpose of the rule is to insure that the pitcher step with his freet foot to the base he is throwing on a pick-off. As long as the move is fluid and continuous, and the free foot gains "direction and distance", it has met the intent of the rule. I'd probably try something along those lines. Plus, if it's legal in OBR (and NCAA), and there's nothing in FED documentation that says it's not legal, it's probably legal. John
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. Last edited by UmpJM; Thu Jan 10, 2008 at 10:20pm. |
|
|||
If it was a day game, would we rule differently??
(Smart ***, I know)
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Errrrrrr....As I recall, you may only disengage from the rubber by stepping BACKWARDS from it. Otherwise, the rule is pretty clear that his non-pivot foot must step directly towards the bag as the first move.
So, he can step BACK, but not sideways with the pivot foot. |
|
|||
Quote:
Heck if you can balk by taking signs off the rubber in FED, a move such as this would surely constitute a balk.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
On what planet?
Quote:
{Of course I see the satire in your statement. I hope others read the satire in my post. ![]() Last edited by SAump; Fri Jan 11, 2008 at 01:29am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Men of few words? | just another ref | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 30, 2007 02:07pm |
NFL Network: In Their Own Words | OverAndBack | Football | 4 | Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:40am |
short words | RUBIERA | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:12am |