The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida, Haddonfield NJ
Posts: 131
Send a message via ICQ to Cub42
The catcher gets the ball, the runner is 70 ft up the line and inside the F/F line. I haven't had any problem passing the required tests at any level of Baseball I have worked. You should look in the mirror and judge yourself before you try and shoot out comments on my abilities.
__________________
Once in awhile you can get shown the light, in the strangest of places if you look at it right
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Easy now kid.

Go back to the original question. Who was covering first?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 10:46pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Well, this is not a well crafted question. The runner from 2nd (R2) is crossing the plate - so he has run 160-70 feet while the batter-runner has run 70? I don't think so.
What if the BR fell down getting out of the box? By then R2 could be nearing home, the speedy R2 could be nearing home and the catcher wouldn't bother to throw to 1B, just tag R2 coming in.

But aside from all the assuming, if we accept the most logical play here, we have 2 outs and no runs.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 08:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
I thought Hawk21 was asking about "an intervening play" in which R2 would return to third, not to second (had the play not resulted in three outs).

Or, he might be trying to say R2 should also be out on BR's interference (interference by a BR before reaching first, with the intent to break up a double play). Especially in this case, the question is poorly worded.

But, since he hasn't been back to clarify, I guess all of us wise ^h^h^h^ smart guys have covered all the bases on this.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cub42
I guess I should have not assumed that F3 was at 1st. I guess you guys see players frequently just throw the ball without somebody , especially the catcher throw to 1st, without anyone in the vicinity of the base. I also forgot to cover every possibility that could result. Yep, guess you showed me.
you're the one that said the position of F3 has no bearing on the call.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
to all the smart guys

I didn't want to spell everything out, but I guess I have too. Yes F6's throw to home is a force out for 2nd. out and batter/runner interferes with throw from catcher. Rule-7.09h read the rule. because of obvious interference by batter/runner (NOT RUNNER 7.09g)to breakup a double play, the 3rd. out is R2 who crossed the plate on the interference. if there was zero outs the same thing would result and you would have the batter/runner placed at 1st. base and R1 would be forced to go to 2nd. Remember it doesn't matter where the double play would have happened! If it was a runner(7.09g) then he would be the 3rd. out and no runs score and if Zero outs he is out for 2nd. out and other runners would go back to base previously occupied before the interference.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk21
I didn't want to spell everything out, but I guess I have too. Yes F6's throw to home is a force out for 2nd. out and batter/runner interferes with throw from catcher. Rule-7.09h read the rule. because of obvious interference by batter/runner (NOT RUNNER 7.09g)to breakup a double play, the 3rd. out is R2 who crossed the plate on the interference. if there was zero outs the same thing would result and you would have the batter/runner placed at 1st. base and R1 would be forced to go to 2nd. Remember it doesn't matter where the double play would have happened! If it was a runner(7.09g) then he would be the 3rd. out and no runs score and if Zero outs he is out for 2nd. out and other runners would go back to base previously occupied before the interference.
1) the correct rule reference is 7.09(g) (under the 2007 revisions).

2) The rule requires "willfully and deliberately" interfering (and being out of the running lane isn't sufficient)

3) The rule also requires that the interference be with a batted ball or with a fielder fielding a batted ball -- neither of which was present in your play.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
way to go Bob

someone is paying attention, I don't have the 2007 version so my book is 7.09h. Yes, he did "intentionally and deliberately" interfere. Yes this was a thrown ball so batter/runner out for 3rd. out, no runs score! I will work with you any day Bob!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk21
someone is paying attention,
Apparently that someone isn't you. Read Bob's post again and pay specific attention to his third point.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
GarthB

I am agreeing with him Mr. Garth if you read my post! I guess I confused you also!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk21
I am agreeing with him Mr. Garth if you read my post! I guess I confused you also!

Uh, yeah. Especially since he points out that this must involve a batted ball and you state that it involved a thrown ball. And then you indicate that the two of you are in agreement.

Yes, indeed, you are most confusing.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Gb

my reply to my original question was intended to see if anyone would notice what Bob noticed in my answer, I guess you don't agree with this so just let it go!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
I agree with Garth that I don't seem to agree with Hawk21
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk21
my reply to my original question was intended to see if anyone would notice what Bob noticed in my answer, I guess you don't agree with this so just let it go!
That makes it much clearer.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2007, 06:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
I frequently view, and occassionally post, but I have to ask a serious question.

Where does this forum get some of these posters??

I'm thinking we could fill a large area, - surrounded with the razor barbed wire - with these guys/gals.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1