Thread: what's the call
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 04:07pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk21
I didn't want to spell everything out, but I guess I have too. Yes F6's throw to home is a force out for 2nd. out and batter/runner interferes with throw from catcher. Rule-7.09h read the rule. because of obvious interference by batter/runner (NOT RUNNER 7.09g)to breakup a double play, the 3rd. out is R2 who crossed the plate on the interference. if there was zero outs the same thing would result and you would have the batter/runner placed at 1st. base and R1 would be forced to go to 2nd. Remember it doesn't matter where the double play would have happened! If it was a runner(7.09g) then he would be the 3rd. out and no runs score and if Zero outs he is out for 2nd. out and other runners would go back to base previously occupied before the interference.
1) the correct rule reference is 7.09(g) (under the 2007 revisions).

2) The rule requires "willfully and deliberately" interfering (and being out of the running lane isn't sufficient)

3) The rule also requires that the interference be with a batted ball or with a fielder fielding a batted ball -- neither of which was present in your play.
Reply With Quote