![]() |
|
|
|||
But why did he return to first? The obstruction doesn't allow him carte blanche but did the coach's push really affect the play? Not to me (judgement) and by awarding second base I'm nullifying the act of obstruction which caused the "interference" by the coach. JMO.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Havaing the advantage of the video:
1. Point to F3, "That's obstruction"...ball stays in play 7.06(b) 2. Point to B/R "That's interference"...Ball stays in play 7.09(i) 3. When play ends: "That's obstruction...you second base." 4. "That's interference, the runner is out." 5. Eject as many as necessary.
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() But the enforcement of 7.09i is to call the runner out at the time of interference (if you have it and with no play being made on the "assisted" runner) yes the ball remains in play.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
(See how easy that was, Mark?)
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Thu Sep 13, 2007 at 12:10pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead. What does no play being made on the "assisted" runner have to do with whether the ball remains in play or not? It's either dead or it isn't.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me? |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball reamains in play, though the runner is called out. From JEA: "If no play is being made on the assisted runner, the umpire shall signal that the runner is out and allow the ball to remain alive. This enforcement principle permits the defensive team to make plays on other runners if possible."
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
When a play is being made on the assisted runner, the umpire should call "Time" and enforce the penalty. The runner is out and all runners return to the bases occupied at the time of the interference (assistance). If no play is being made on the assisted runner, the umpire shall signal that the runner is out and allow the ball to remain alive. This enforcement principle permits the defensive team to make plays on other runners if possible. It is also consistent with other enforcement principles in the Official Baseball Rules in which you have a "delayed dead ball": 7.06(b) - Obstruction with no play being made on the obstructed runner; and 7.08(h) - Runner declared out for passing a preceding runner. Here's an example: Runner on 2nd...the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop. The B-R advances to 1st and overruns the base as the ball deflects off the 1st baseman. The B-R feints to 2nd and then trips to the ground. His coach helps him up as the other runner attempts to score. The 1st baseman retrieves the ball and fires home in time for the putout. Should the ball be killed at the time of the assist by the coach or should the out stand? RULING: Since the play was not being made on the assisted runner, the ball remains alive and in play. This is a double play. (Though not covered specifically in the Official Rules, this ruling is based on common sense and fair play. If the ball were instantly killed at the time of a coach's assist, the coach could always control the status of the ball by grabbing a nearby player.) Sorry for the redundancy. Garth beat me to it.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! Last edited by NFump; Thu Sep 13, 2007 at 12:59pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
First in this particular play, IMO we need to take a look at the ENTIRE play and not "piece meal the rules" Example: We all know that a runner is required to touch all bases in order. However, suppose R1 is obstructed while trying to touch second base on route to third base. In other words the reason he missed touching the base was due to the OBS. Playing action ends and the defense wants to appeal that R1 missed second base. Our ruling - appeal denied because in our judgement the reason R1 didn't touch the base was because F4 / F6 prevented him from doing so. In the aforementioned we do not "piece meal" the rules but look at the entire play. Therefore, in this OP IMO we need to do the same thing. Why! If OBS was called in the first place, then most likely the Coach would not have assited the runner. Therefore, after playing action ends and the umpires huddle. If in fact they decide that OBS should have been called, then the coaches interference should be ignored because R1 is awarded 2nd base hence no advantage gained as a result of the coaches assist. Off topic a bit but now I think we can all see the benefit of having a replay to look at. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Here's a little tidbit from JEA:
“Physically assisting” implies that the coach did something by touching the runner which improved that runner's chance of accomplishing his goal as a runner. In other words, touching alone does not constitute physically assisting. The umpire must be convinced that the runner is trying to get back to a base or is trying to advance with a sense of urgency.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Quote:
(i)In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Absent a "ruling" from a recognized authority we'll just have to A2D.
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
|
|||
Viewing the video again, I can see that the runner did try to advance to second (he went further than I originally thought he did). But (you knew that was coming) can he actually be assisted to a base he was going to be awarded?
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coach's Interference? | Armadillo_Blue | Baseball | 13 | Tue Aug 08, 2006 01:41am |
coach's interference | NavyCoach | Baseball | 8 | Wed Jun 15, 2005 01:35pm |
Interference v. Obstruction | Dougie | Softball | 14 | Tue Apr 16, 2002 08:54pm |
Obstruction and Interference | spots101 | Baseball | 6 | Sun Mar 03, 2002 02:32pm |
Interference, Obstruction or nothing. | Gre144 | Baseball | 10 | Thu May 17, 2001 07:27pm |