The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2007, 07:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
When I spoke to BU after the game, he explained to me that he did not balk him for stepping onto the rubber, in the set position, when the ball was dead. He insisted that because the rule states the pitcher must come set on the rubber it was a balk as soon as the ball became live.
You stated FED rules, right? Now, what position did he take the rubber with, windup or stretch? Reason being, if he took the windup, he is allowed to have his hands together and remain that way throughout!

Regards
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2007, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
You stated FED rules, right? Now, what position did he take the rubber with, windup or stretch? Reason being, if he took the windup, he is allowed to have his hands together and remain that way throughout!

Regards
Great point Ozzy! Although the runner was on, he took the rubber from the stretch position to appeal. The pitcher wasn't sure about the entire appeal process and the coach did not directly ask BU for an appeal. We've been told by our assignor not to coach a player or coach through the appeal process.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2007, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
Great point Ozzy! Although the runner was on, he took the rubber from the stretch position to appeal. The pitcher wasn't sure about the entire appeal process and the coach did not directly ask BU for an appeal. We've been told by our assignor not to coach a player or coach through the appeal process.
Okay, FED rules, F1 on the rubber in the set with his hands together. You put the ball in play. F1 is confused but not making any movement to the plate, listens to his coach and steps off (properly).

This is not a balk. Had he delivered to the batter, it would technically be a balk under FED if he didn't stop all motion beforehand. Once he stepped off, F1 was okay.

Your assigner is absolutely correct in what he told you. You are an umpire not a coach. Now, if the coach comes to you and asks how to do an appeal, you can advise him but not the players. Take this information from your assigner throughout your umpiring career and it will alleviate many problems that amateur umpires run into.

Regards
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) tem_blue Baseball 6 Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? johnnyg08 Baseball 2 Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am
Appeal/Balk Called (OBR) Lapopez Baseball 41 Sun Jul 25, 2004 01:45pm
Balk During Appeal loftisc Baseball 2 Tue Jun 03, 2003 04:27pm
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! Gre144 Baseball 12 Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1