The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 07:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
Perhaps you didn't see the Web Gem by Nick Punto of the Twins. He took off while over the dugout lip (with both feet in the air) and made the catch up against the face of the dugout roof. He then landed with both feet in the dugout. This was an out, not a foul ball.
As per the new rule set of 2007 at least one foot must be touching or over the edge of the playing surface and nothing touching the DBT ground in order for a catch to be legal.

I didn't see the catch but if the defender was completely over DBT when the ball was caught the umpires incorrectly called an out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
As per the new rule set of 2007 at least one foot must be touching or over the edge of the playing surface and nothing touching the DBT ground in order for a catch to be legal.

I didn't see the catch but if the defender was completely over DBT when the ball was caught the umpires incorrectly called an out.
I can see how the wording leads you to that conclusion, but I think you're misinterpreting the intent.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I can see how the wording leads you to that conclusion, but I think you're misinterpreting the intent.
Using the rule I quoted earlier in the thread (directly from MLB website) could you explain to me how the rule could be interpreted any other way but: "The fielder MUST have one foot on or over playing surface and nothing touching in DBT for a caught ball to be an out?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
Using the rule I quoted earlier in the thread (directly from MLB website) could you explain to me how the rule could be interpreted any other way but: "The fielder MUST have one foot on or over playing surface and nothing touching in DBT for a caught ball to be an out?
Because if the wording just said "on the playing surface" than any catch in the air wouldn't be a catch.

My guess (and I admit it's just that) is that the "you are where you were until you get where you're going" rule applies, and a player who leaps from (entirely) live ball territory over (but not touching) dead ball territory can still make a legal catch.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Bob,

With all due respect I think the "or over the playing surface" deals directly with the leaping catch. I can't remember where I read it but I remember reading somewhere that the umpire is to try to line up the fielder's feet with the DBT when a catch is made. If the feet are completely in DBT(on ground or in the air) then it is to be ruled a foul ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ref in the stands lmeadski Basketball 35 Thu Jan 26, 2006 09:05pm
Kneeling play, LB dives at QB biglaz Football 18 Tue Oct 26, 2004 02:42pm
Shane Reynolds balk Jay R Baseball 5 Fri Aug 29, 2003 02:53pm
Not a dry eye in the stands... SC Ump Softball 6 Sat Jun 21, 2003 09:10pm
Ref in Stands Redneck Ref Basketball 18 Sat Feb 02, 2002 09:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1