The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike
Moronic or not: an excerpt from MLBUM may also be moronic, but it's the mechanic I'd use.

I would indeed kill it, as the ball did go OOP, that's "time" in any ball park. Whether thrown, carried or batted.

Once the runner has touched 2nd, he's touched second and owns it.
Albeit not quit yet legally, not my problem either.

At the time the ball went dead he was between 2nd and 3rd, after, "touching 2nd". The award must be one base from where he was.

If the runner does what he's supposed to, retouches, then yes, I agree, the award would now be 2B.

I cannot authenticate this, but it comes from a source I trust.
It entertains a two base award, I can't recall any source that would dictate a one base award, be treated any differently.

From MLBUM:
Baseball Rule 7.05(i).)
Play: Runner on first, one out. Batter flies out to right field for second out. However, runner on first thought there were two out and is between second and third when the ball is caught.
Right fielder's throw to first is wild and goes into the dugout.
Runner is between second and third when
the wild throw is made.
Ruling: Runner is initially awarded home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw).
However, while the ball is dead, the runner must return to and retouch first base.
Furthermore, because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play, he must return to first before reaching and touching third (his next base). If the runner touches third, he may not
return to first; and if the defensive team appeals, the runner is out at first.

However, if the runner properly returns and retouches first before reaching third, the award then becomes third base (two bases from his original base).
You simply cannot give the runner in the OP any base but second. This was not an overthrow, it was a dead ball after a legal catch and the award. by rule, is one base. Since the runner must return to first base to legally advance, dead ball or live ball, he can only be awarded 2nd base.

Period.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
No tag after catch ozzy6900 Baseball 3 Mon Oct 04, 2004 08:27am
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
Catch or No Catch? soonerfan Baseball 8 Thu Jun 12, 2003 03:37pm
NEW CATCH NO CATCH soonerfan Baseball 2 Thu Jun 12, 2003 03:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1