The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by C'monBlue
Under what circumstances would he be out "if no play is being made on him"???
No idea, hes like "Clean hit to left field, BR overruns first base. On a throw over there, he is liable to be put out because no original play was being made on him"

There was no intent to go to second, ect.

I know this is insane right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 01:14am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrm21711
I know this is insane right?
Yes, insane.

As long as he immediately returns to first, he cannot be tagged out. If he stops to adjust his junk or something, then he can be tagged out, but otherwise,no, it's insanity.

BTW, why didn't the runner in your example take a turn at first on his clean single to left field?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25

Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Fri Jun 22, 2007 at 01:17am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 02:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Yes, insane.

As long as he immediately returns to first, he cannot be tagged out. If he stops to adjust his junk or something, then he can be tagged out, but otherwise,no, it's insanity.

BTW, why didn't the runner in your example take a turn at first on his clean single to left field?
My partner used that as an example.

J/R page 43 clearly says "A BR cannot be tagged out when overrunning 1B after advancing to such a base on a batted ball, uncaught strike three, or live ball award."

I guess that evidence should convince my partner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 09:07am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Hmmm...I don't think a B/R has the overrun privilege on a walk...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Hmmm,

According NFHS he CAN overrun . . .

According to Evans in OBR he CANNOT overrun.

Ooop, I guess I have that backwards. Sorry!

Last edited by Tim C; Fri Jun 22, 2007 at 10:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 09:24am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
According NFHS he CAN overrun . . .

According to Evans in OBR he CANNOT overrun.
I think you have that reversed.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
I think you have that reversed.

NFHS - cannot overrun on a walk.

Evans in the JEA says you can't in OBR but the MLBUM says you can. I'm voting with the MLBUM.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
According NFHS he CAN overrun . . .

According to Evans in OBR he CANNOT overrun.

Ooop, I guess I have that backwards. Sorry!
Unfortunately, Jim has yet to release his new JEA on CD. When Jim first taught that, it was the ruling opinion of MLB as well. It no longer is, and is no longer taught.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Define "over-running". Is the BR simply running past the base, making no attempt to advance to 2b? Or, is he making a wide turn at 1st, locating the ball and looking for the opportunity to advance to 2b if the ball gets past the OF?

Two different situations, two different rulings are possible.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
Unfortunately, Jim has yet to release his new JEA on CD. When Jim first taught that, it was the ruling opinion of MLB as well. It no longer is, and is no longer taught.

FWIW, a respected poster on another site reported that Jim was still teaching that, and when the MLBUM rulking was pointed out Jim responded "They're wrong".
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overrunning First Base Southside Baseball 2 Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:41am
Overrunning 1B - Obstruction IRISHMAFIA Softball 21 Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:07am
Overrunning 1st base CecilOne Softball 16 Wed Apr 09, 2003 09:08pm
ISF / Overrunning 1st Base mach3 Softball 12 Sat Jan 18, 2003 12:06am
Overrunning 1st Base - your call WestMichBlue Softball 5 Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1