The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Overrunning 1B (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35868-overrunning-1b.html)

mrm21711 Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:01am

Overrunning 1B
 
Ok so my partner & I were talking tonight inbetween games, and he brought up some things (all are under OBR):

1) He said that a BR overrunning first base on a base on balls is liable to be put out (I know this is untrue according to J/R and the MLB Umpire Manual)

2) A BR is liable to be put out after overrunning 1B if "no play is being made on him"

I said both of these are wrong....I cant find any references/support for the second one though. Help please? And am I right on both?

Thanks.

C'monBlue Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrm21711
2) A BR is liable to be put out after overrunning 1B if "no play is being made on him"

Under what circumstances would he be out "if no play is being made on him"???

mrm21711 Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by C'monBlue
Under what circumstances would he be out "if no play is being made on him"???

No idea, hes like "Clean hit to left field, BR overruns first base. On a throw over there, he is liable to be put out because no original play was being made on him"

There was no intent to go to second, ect.

I know this is insane right?

SanDiegoSteve Fri Jun 22, 2007 01:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrm21711
I know this is insane right?

Yes, insane.

As long as he immediately returns to first, he cannot be tagged out. If he stops to adjust his junk or something, then he can be tagged out, but otherwise,no, it's insanity.

BTW, why didn't the runner in your example take a turn at first on his clean single to left field?

mrm21711 Fri Jun 22, 2007 02:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Yes, insane.

As long as he immediately returns to first, he cannot be tagged out. If he stops to adjust his junk or something, then he can be tagged out, but otherwise,no, it's insanity.

BTW, why didn't the runner in your example take a turn at first on his clean single to left field?

My partner used that as an example.

J/R page 43 clearly says "A BR cannot be tagged out when overrunning 1B after advancing to such a base on a batted ball, uncaught strike three, or live ball award."

I guess that evidence should convince my partner.

johnnyg08 Fri Jun 22, 2007 09:07am

Hmmm...I don't think a B/R has the overrun privilege on a walk...

Tim C Fri Jun 22, 2007 09:18am

Hmmm,
 
According NFHS he CAN overrun . . .

According to Evans in OBR he CANNOT overrun.

Ooop, I guess I have that backwards. Sorry!

Steven Tyler Fri Jun 22, 2007 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim C
According NFHS he CAN overrun . . .

According to Evans in OBR he CANNOT overrun.

I think you have that reversed.

Rich Ives Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
I think you have that reversed.


NFHS - cannot overrun on a walk.

Evans in the JEA says you can't in OBR but the MLBUM says you can. I'm voting with the MLBUM.

Tim C Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:11am

Sooo,
 
Again, I give the odd play that can happen is NFHS:

3 Balls and 2 Strikes . . . first base unoccupied.

A pitch is thrown that is in the dirt . . .

The batter places himself in a checked/unchecked swing position by "maybe" offering at the pitch.

The ball rolls away from F2 and the BR takes off for first.

BR beats the throw from F2 and overruns first base. HOWEVER, F3 for some unknown reason chases after the BR and tags him.

F2 then turns to the PU and says: "Can you get help? I think he went."

So now (correct me if I am wrong):

When the PU goes for help if:

The BU says: "No Swing" that makes this a base on balls (and normally a free trip to first base) but with the tag the BR is now out.

If BU says: "Yes, he went" that makes this a stirke out (and normally an out) but since this was not a walk the runner would now be safe.

In NFHS baseball is this concept correct?

Regards,

GarthB Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim C
According NFHS he CAN overrun . . .

According to Evans in OBR he CANNOT overrun.

Ooop, I guess I have that backwards. Sorry!

Unfortunately, Jim has yet to release his new JEA on CD. When Jim first taught that, it was the ruling opinion of MLB as well. It no longer is, and is no longer taught.

RPatrino Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:53am

Define "over-running". Is the BR simply running past the base, making no attempt to advance to 2b? Or, is he making a wide turn at 1st, locating the ball and looking for the opportunity to advance to 2b if the ball gets past the OF?

Two different situations, two different rulings are possible.

Tim C Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:02am

Bob:
 
Any overrun . . . no turn or effort to proceed further is needed.

Regards,

RPatrino Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:46am

Ok, in an OBR situation, BR hits a clean single and makes a wide looping turn at first and stops half way between first and second.

1) He makes no attempt to advance past this point, but does not return to 1b immediately, is he liable to be put out?
2) He makes no attempt to advance past this point, but returns immediately to 1b, is he liable to be put out?

mrm21711 Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino
Ok, in an OBR situation, BR hits a clean single and makes a wide looping turn at first and stops half way between first and second.

1) He makes no attempt to advance past this point, but does not return to 1b immediately, is he liable to be put out?
2) He makes no attempt to advance past this point, but returns immediately to 1b, is he liable to be put out?

Youre confusing overrunning with rounding


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1