![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
7.08 (f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out; note that, expcet for the IFF, there is no distinction between physically touching a base or not |
|
|||
We might also note that it matters where the batted ball struck the runner. If the runner has one foot on the base (which is in fair territory), the other foot in foul territory, and the batted ball strikes him in the leg over foul territory, then the ball is foul. If it strikes him on the other leg and over fair territory, then the ball is dead and the runner is out. The batter would be awarded 1B if this were not the 3rd out.
Fair/foul in this case depends on where the ball is, not where the runner is.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Where do the runners go? | umpire99 | Baseball | 11 | Mon Mar 26, 2007 09:35pm |
Two Runners at First | cmcramer | Baseball | 7 | Wed Aug 16, 2006 01:44pm |
Runners on first and second | rodneyw | Baseball | 6 | Sun Mar 12, 2006 08:05am |
Little League 9-10 yr old - Base runner hit by batted ball... Do runners advance? | mike miles | Baseball | 2 | Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:46am |
Injuries from batted balls | Bluefoot | Softball | 0 | Tue Aug 05, 2003 08:36am |