The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
I agree with everyone here that it doesn't make any sense but how do you explain the comment?? Doesn't it clearly say that the force advance doesn't occur until the batter/runner has TOUCHED the base?

Any casebooks which explain this comment further?


When ball 4 is called all forced runners are allowed to immediately advance to next base with out liability.

At least 2 situations exist that would put these runners at risk.

1. Ball 4 is reversed by check swing appeal
2. BR fails to advance to 1st.
As in following example:

Bottom 7, 1 out bases full, tie game.

B5 draws a walk. Instead of going to first BR celebrates as home team dugout empties. Heads up F2 tags R3 as he comes skipping into home.
BR heads back to dugout with rest of the team.

If just getting ball 4 entitled the forced runners to advance then this game is over, however, because of this rule we go to extra innings.

Last edited by Don Mueller; Fri Jun 08, 2007 at 12:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 12:01pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
6.08(a) Comment must be one of the 230+ errors in the OBR book that we keep hearing about, yet nothing ever gets done to correct.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
6.08(a) Comment must be one of the 230+ errors in the OBR book that we keep hearing about, yet nothing ever gets done to correct.
Thanks Steve. I quoted the comment in the rulebook and everyone is jumping all over me instead of discussing the rulebook comment itself.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

tibear,

Strange wording indeed.

I believe Don Mueller has given you the correct answer in terms of the intent behind the inclusion of this language in the rulebook.

In potential game-winning or half-inning ending situations, in order for a run to score, the BR must "complete" his award or no run scores - even if other forced runners do complete their awards.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
tibear,

Strange wording indeed.

I believe Don Mueller has given you the correct answer in terms of the intent behind the inclusion of this language in the rulebook.

In potential game-winning or half-inning ending situations, in order for a run to score, the BR must "complete" his award or no run scores - even if other forced runners do complete their awards.

JM
Yes, Don is probably right and I agree that the wording is strange.

With the wording they use, they should use a situational example similar to others used in the rulebook.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
Thanks Steve. I quoted the comment in the rulebook and everyone is jumping all over me instead of discussing the rulebook comment itself.
No, we are all well aware of the "technical error". What we are jumping on is the "interpretation" that you seem to be buying into. As dumb as coaches may be (rule book wise), I have never heard such dribble coming even from them!

The original post of yours has to be one of the dumbest things I have ever read on the Internet (other than a Casa or Morgan rule interpretation). I agree, there are inconsistencies in the rules, but to become this literal is just being a complete rectal orifice!

Please learn your craft!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
No, we are all well aware of the "technical error". What we are jumping on is the "interpretation" that you seem to be buying into. As dumb as coaches may be (rule book wise), I have never heard such dribble coming even from them!

The original post of yours has to be one of the dumbest things I have ever read on the Internet (other than a Casa or Morgan rule interpretation). I agree, there are inconsistencies in the rules, but to become this literal is just being a complete rectal orifice!

Please learn your craft!
whatever
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
6.08(a) Comment must be one of the 230+ errors in the OBR book that we keep hearing about, yet nothing ever gets done to correct.
The books are written for MLB *only*. Other organizations are "allowed" to use them. No one at the MLB level has trouble with mopst of the errors (including this one). It's not worth the effort for them to change most of the errors. Live with it (or write your own "corrected" book and sell it).

(And, to be clear, I don't mean to direct that last comment at only SDS)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
inadvertant base on balls archer Softball 16 Thu Apr 26, 2007 02:43pm
base on balls ump14 Baseball 2 Sun Jul 23, 2006 08:03am
Little League 9-10 yr old - Base runner hit by batted ball... Do runners advance? mike miles Baseball 2 Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:46am
Failing to advance or Abandoning a base Dakota Softball 28 Fri Jun 25, 2004 09:19am
base on balls twhidd Baseball 6 Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1