![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
There's nothing technical about it. That is the rule. And the wording helps to understand that it doesn't matter if the out is by tag of the runner or tag of the base.
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Wed May 30, 2007 at 06:38pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
By adding the information about the other bases, it covered the difference between force and timing plays on all of the bases. Can you show me how with two outs and a runner on third, the play is treated any differently if the BR is tagged before getting to first or R1 or R2 being tagged before they get to their next base? The call is EXACTLY the same, it is NOT a timing play. Yes, they are called something different but the outcome is EXACTLY the same. I find that the more information you give novices the more confused they get. (Some umpires included, on occasion myself included). I for one would like the rulebook remove the wording for BR not reaching first and simply the rules by making it a force situation. Then every base is treated exactly the same. Same with the wording for Infield Fly. It bothers me to know end when they say with runners on first and second or first, second and third. Simply eliminate the first, second and third because if we have the bases loaded by definition we have runners at first and second. Make the rule as simple as possible and there is a better chance that everyone will understand. There I feel better.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't think your post was "drivel". GarthB was correct. However, one could easily foresee the Original Poster coming back and asking: "what about if R1 was tagged out at second after R3 touchded home, instead of a middle infielder holding the ball and touching second base?" You foresaw this question and answered it correctly. The pointless drivel, I'm afraid, came soon after your post, tibear. |
|
|||
|
Why all the fuss over something so simple? Tom, all you need to ask yourself is this: Is the final out of the inning a force out (whether the forced runner is tagged or the base is tagged) or the batter runner failing to reach or touch first base? If yes, then no runs score on the play.
|
|
|||
|
tibear on IFF rule: Simply eliminate the first, second and third because if we have the bases loaded by definition we have runners at first and second.
Simple. Because if you have the bases loaded come coach (an maybe even an under-educated umpire) will say it isn't in effect because the rule says just first and second.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I believe in the KISS philosophy and it seems the authors of the baseball rulebook don't. They should try to simplify the rulebook as much as possible so there wouldn't be so much confusion. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() You should have been at the Midwest region's NCAA Umpire meetings in Indy this year, where we spent at least an hour over ONE little question on the new NCAA Force Play Slide Rule. The question so hotly discussed? The pop-up slide being legal if done in line with the base.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Is a Runner that is tagged going to first.. | cshs81 | Baseball | 10 | Wed Apr 18, 2007 09:22pm |
| Missed first base and then tagged | GrizzlyUmp14 | Baseball | 33 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 07:45pm |
| Force out at 1B? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 23 | Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:54pm |
| Force Out | rickbeauv | Softball | 22 | Tue Jun 24, 2003 04:04pm |
| Force at 2nd | brumey1107 | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 03:00pm |