The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 243
Obstruction Clarification

9/10/11 year olds. Runner on first. Batter hits a gapper. As he rounds first base, the first baseman unintentionally bumps into him. He makes it to second w/o a throw and makes no attempt to go to third (runner who occupied first is now on third).

Do I protect the obstructed runner only into 2nd base?

If he is thrown out by 20 ft at second, can he still be called out?

If it is a close out at third (assuming the batter attempted), can he be called safe due to the obstruction between 1B and 2B?

Is the placement of the runners at the discretion of the umpire when the ball becomes dead (ie. the runner stopped running to 2B at the point of obstruction and returned to 1B. Can he be awarded second?)

Thank you for the help!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clarification please PGCougar Baseball 7 Mon Jul 10, 2006 01:02am
Obstruction Rule Clarification/explanation, PLEASE!! 4Beemer Softball 12 Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:53pm
Need a little clarification David B Baseball 22 Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:05am
Obstruction clarification SamNVa Softball 5 Thu Aug 30, 2001 09:18pm
Clarification jackgil Basketball 9 Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1