The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
The awarding of bases is a at the umpire's discretion and not automatic. So if the obstruction is between 1B and 2B and in my judgement, the runner lost two steps going to 2B, should he be called safe if he is thrown at by a step at 3B?
That's hard to say. You'd have to determine if the runner rounded second in one continuous movement and decide if the obstruction hindered that progression, and if so, by exactly how much. Evans does a nice job of explaining type B obstruction.


Customs and Usage: Since the ball is not dead on this type obstruction, the runner has the right to advance at his own peril. At the time of obstruction, the umpire should point laterally and verbally call..."That's Obstruction."' At that time, the umpire should decide which base the runner would most likely reach safely and protect him to that base. If the runner advances beyond that projected base, he does so at his own risk and is subject to being put out. Fielders may obstruct runners without actually touching them. For instance, an infielder who is not in the act of fielding a thrown ball cannot stand in the runner's projected base path forcing him to "go around" the fielder to avoid contact. This would be obstruction.



Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 243
Here's what I'm being told, "If the obstruction occurs between 1B and 2B, the runner cannot be called out at 2B!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
Here's what I'm being told, "If the obstruction occurs between 1B and 2B, the runner cannot be called out at 2B!"
True. The award may be 1st, but the protection is between 1st and 2nd.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 08:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
Here's what I'm being told, "If the obstruction occurs between 1B and 2B, the runner cannot be called out at 2B!"
I've read that phrase when I accidentally was reading some softball material.

That said, I think it applies to FED as well (but isn't commonly used as an expression, at least around here).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clarification please PGCougar Baseball 7 Mon Jul 10, 2006 01:02am
Obstruction Rule Clarification/explanation, PLEASE!! 4Beemer Softball 12 Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:53pm
Need a little clarification David B Baseball 22 Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:05am
Obstruction clarification SamNVa Softball 5 Thu Aug 30, 2001 09:18pm
Clarification jackgil Basketball 9 Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1