![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
7.01 Official Notes - Case Book - Comments: If a runner legally acquires title to a base and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base. Evans says this in his notes. When the pitcher assumes his position on the rubber prior to delivery, no runner may return to a previously occupied base. If he attempts to do so, the umpire shall call "time" and declare him out. Originally adopted to eliminate a trick play and unorthodox strategy, this rule accomplished its purpose. Such shenanigans are unheard of in the modern game. Umpires should be alert and declare out any runner who should return to his previous base after the pitcher has assumed his position on the rubber. This could most logically happen when the runner felt that he "left too soon" on a tag-up and would attempt to return before an appeal was made on him. Tim. |
|
|||
I was assuming that he started heading back just after the throw from SS (which is what the OP said), and not after pitcher caught it and then got onto the rubber (which would be considerably later than OP said, and would, as you say, change the situation).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
foul ball and runner does not return to previous bag | 32setmsbloriole | Baseball | 19 | Thu Jun 15, 2006 06:39pm |
Runner On Base | Love this Game | Softball | 11 | Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:21pm |
Runner On Base | mrm21711 | Softball | 6 | Mon Mar 21, 2005 09:03am |
Runner on base out when hit? | emaxos | Baseball | 39 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 01:24am |
Two Runner on One Base | nickdangerME | Softball | 5 | Tue Jul 09, 2002 06:28am |