The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Stealing Home

Here's a real strange one, that I thought of with regards to stealing home. If a pitcher is simply standing on his rubber and looking in for signals when the rubber starts running for home.

The pitcher immediately throws home without coming to a stop.

The catcher steps in front of the plate, catches the ball and tags the runner before the runner touches home. The plate umpire would probably call a balk or CI but could a defensive team use 8.05 d) where it states that a pitcher can throw to an unoccupied base(in this case home) while touching his rubber to make a play.

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when-

(d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play;

I guess it comes down to whether 8.05 d includes home plate as a base or not.

I've never heard of using this rule in this situation but what do you think??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
Here's a real strange one, that I thought of with regards to stealing home. If a pitcher is simply standing on his rubber and looking in for signals when the rubber starts running for home.

The pitcher immediately throws home without coming to a stop.

The catcher steps in front of the plate, catches the ball and tags the runner before the runner touches home. The plate umpire would probably call a balk or CI but could a defensive team use 8.05 d) where it states that a pitcher can throw to an unoccupied base(in this case home) while touching his rubber to make a play.

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when-

(d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play;

I guess it comes down to whether 8.05 d includes home plate as a base or not.

I've never heard of using this rule in this situation but what do you think??
It's CI AND a balk. 7.07.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
Here's a real strange one, that I thought of with regards to stealing home. If a pitcher is simply standing on his rubber and looking in for signals when the rubber starts running for home.

The pitcher immediately throws home without coming to a stop.

The catcher steps in front of the plate, catches the ball and tags the runner before the runner touches home. The plate umpire would probably call a balk or CI but could a defensive team use 8.05 d) where it states that a pitcher can throw to an unoccupied base(in this case home) while touching his rubber to make a play.

8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when-

(d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play;

I guess it comes down to whether 8.05 d includes home plate as a base or not.

I've never heard of using this rule in this situation but what do you think??
I agree with Rich Ives on the CI and enforcing OBR 7.07 but that is after I enforce the balk especially if there are other runners on base. F1 balked first then F2 committed CI. The pitch was dead the moment it was caught so the runner from 3rd would score anyway.

Hell, I'm going to get them for as much as I can on this one! BWAHAHAHAH!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
I agree, it's both, a balk followed by CI. You have to take em one at a time. Enforce the balk first, R3 gets home. Now you have the CI, BR gets first. If it's a fed game, you only have a balk, since the ball was dead as soon as F1 balked.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
If he pitcher is in the windup (its not stated), then we have CI.

In the set position, then we have a balk.

If you think about it,this scenario can not happen even if we consider home plate as a "unoccupied base" (and I am not sure if we can), because the pitcher and catcher have restrictions when pitching from the rubber to the plate. If the pitcher was to step and throw to home plate, he has to also satisfied the pitching regulations.

If home plate is not considered an unoccupied base well then the discussion is over.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by justanotherblue
I agree, it's both, a balk followed by CI. You have to take em one at a time. Enforce the balk first, R3 gets home. Now you have the CI, BR gets first. If it's a fed game, you only have a balk, since the ball was dead as soon as F1 balked.

There's nothing to enforce seperatly. You need only to enforce 7.07, which is a balk.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
What if in OBR

we rule balk...

the ball hits the runner sliding in?

???
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2007, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
What if in OBR

we rule balk...

the ball hits the runner sliding in?

???

Then you enforce the balk.

Tim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stealing Home mcarr Baseball 3 Tue May 01, 2007 10:59am
stealing home lmathews19 Baseball 1 Tue Jul 04, 2006 02:47am
Stealing home mikek Baseball 25 Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:10pm
Stealing Home t-bone Baseball 3 Fri Jul 12, 2002 10:35am
Stealing Home jim1976 Baseball 15 Sat May 18, 2002 01:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1