![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
|
I've been going through all of the posts to try to come up with something to simplify the process. Here goes - (assuming FED rules)
1. Was the contact obstruction? YES/NO 2. If NO, ignore the entire situation 3. If YES, did the runner reach the base he was attempting to achieve? YES/NO. If YES, was he attempting to ADVANCE or RETURN. If ADVANCE, ignore obstruction and result of play stands. If RETURN, award once base past base safely returned to. If NO, and ADVANCING, award base runner would have achieved. If RETURNING, award one base past base runner was attempting to return to. I don't know if I can make it any simpler than this. The key question is - "IS THE CONTACT OBSTRUCTION". When you call NO OBSTRUCTION and coach starts after you, don't offer anything other than "THERE WAS NO OBSTRUCTION". No matter what happens, obstruction is a judgment call. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Coach JM has it simple and correct: "Under FED, if the Obstructed runner reaches the base he would have absent the obstruction AND that base is (at least) one base beyond his position at the time of Obstruction, then the Obstruction is ignored and no award is made. If both conditions are not met, the Obstructed runner is awarded a minimum of one base."
__________________
GB |
|
|||
|
Well put Garth...let's move on to something completly different.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I figured that someone would see it the way you see it and respond, and you did, and I appreciate it. I just tried to provide an alternative way of thinking about the situation, because as I said, not everybody sees it the same way. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
JM's explanation, besides being simpler, is more complete.
__________________
GB Last edited by GarthB; Fri Apr 13, 2007 at 04:48pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If YES, did the runner reach the base he WOULD have achieved? YES/NO. If YES, was he attempting to ADVANCE or RETURN. If ADVANCE, ignore obstruction and result of play stands. If RETURN, award once base past base safely returned to. If NO to first question either way award base runner WOULD have achieved if no obstruction. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Muff Confusion | mstumbo | Football | 11 | Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:30pm |
| Help: Confusion on PI Ruling | ljudge | Football | 6 | Fri Apr 01, 2005 04:43am |
| Confusion... | Oz Referee | Basketball | 6 | Sun Nov 25, 2001 01:03am |
| Confusion? | Just Curious | Softball | 3 | Fri May 18, 2001 11:40am |
| Traveling Confusion | John Crow | Basketball | 1 | Sun Nov 19, 2000 01:35pm |