The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prince
I've gone over this in quite some depth with the WIAA rules interpreter and finally understand it. He agrees, the wording is not the best.

Once again, if the runner achieves the base he was attempting to acquire, then the obstruction is ignored. If the obstruction is ignored, then there is not a one base minimum to award. It all centers around your judgment as to what base he was attempting to achieve and then whether or not he achieved that base safely. In the OP, he was not trying to achieve 2B, so by default he was trying to achieve 1B and did so safely. Therefore, the obstruction is "ignored" and not minimum one base award.

Have a great day!
Leo
Not really, the rub is that under FED rule we have to award one base. It is written clear in the rule and there is case book support for it. It clearly states that you must award one base minimum.

You can ignore it, sure. But if you call obstruction, the call does not go away under this editorial change. Once you call obstruction and stick your arm out, that runner will be moved up at least one base.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
When I did Fed a few years ago, we (theoretically) awarded a base even if the OBS was on a returning runner not being played upon.

Abel gets a hit to right and takes a big turn around 1B. Seeing F9 field the ball quickly, Abel turns around, bumps into F3, and returns to the bag as F9 flips the ball in to F4 at 2B.

Even on this OBS, umpires were supposed to award Abel 2B. However, many umpires either ignored or "didn't see" such infractions. Apparently Fed has made their rule more realistic.

Oops. Or, according to the last post, apparently NOT!
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
When I did Fed a few years ago, we (theoretically) awarded a base even if the OBS was on a returning runner not being played upon.

Abel gets a hit to right and takes a big turn around 1B. Seeing F9 field the ball quickly, Abel turns around, bumps into F3, and returns to the bag as F9 flips the ball in to F4 at 2B.

Even on this OBS, umpires were supposed to award Abel 2B. However, many umpires either ignored or "didn't see" such infractions. Apparently Fed has made their rule more realistic.

Oops. Or, according to the last post, apparently NOT!
1) Just because there was a "bump" doesn't mean there was obstruction (edited to use the correct word).

2) The rule "clarification" came about because some umpires / coaches would award an ADDITIONAL base even when the runner reached the base he was trying for after obstruction. The written words are incorect if taken literally when obstruction occurs when a runner is "going backwards".

Last edited by bob jenkins; Thu Apr 12, 2007 at 04:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
1) Just because there was a "bump" doesn't mean there was interference.
Hey now Bob, don't start messing with us. We are talking obstruction here, not interference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
2) The rule "clarification" came about because some umpires / coaches would award an ADDITIONAL base even when the runner reached the base he was trying for after obstruction. The written words are incorect if taken literally when obstruction occurs when a runner is "going backwards".
Agreed about the written words part and the clarification. Obstruction would be called between first and second and the runner would achieve second base. Then, the umpire would then call time and award him third, instead of just keeping him at second.

We have talked about this on this board a couple of times and I thought it has even on the NFHS test a while back (03-05)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muff Confusion mstumbo Football 11 Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:30pm
Help: Confusion on PI Ruling ljudge Football 6 Fri Apr 01, 2005 04:43am
Confusion... Oz Referee Basketball 6 Sun Nov 25, 2001 01:03am
Confusion? Just Curious Softball 3 Fri May 18, 2001 11:40am
Traveling Confusion John Crow Basketball 1 Sun Nov 19, 2000 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1