The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2007, 01:04pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
How can you miss a base on a walk?

In Fed a few years ago, I had a runner fail to touch home after being forced in on a walk. He stopped five feet in front of the plate, picked up the bat, and went directly to his bench. The catcher didn't notice, but the defensive coach saw it from the dugout, so they got the out on appeal.
The difference here is the runner actually reached the dugout and has lost his protection. He can be called out on appeal. Because it is an awarded base, the runner can correct a running violation unless a succeeding runner has scored in front of him. For example - R1 goes to second, overruns and F2 decides to make a play throws into OF allowing R2, who has reached 3B, to score. R3 is no longer protected and can be called out on appeal. Until it is clear that R3 no longer is making an attempt to touch HP, I would allow him to touch and score.

Ref: 8-2-5 - ART. 5... If a runner who misses any base (including home plate) or leaves a base too early, desires to return to touch the base, he must do so immediately. If the ball becomes dead and the runner is on or beyond a succeeding base, he cannot return to the missed base and, therefore, is subject to being declared out upon proper and successful appeal.

Of course the operative word in this is immediately. How close is he to dugout, how much time has elasped, etc. It becomes a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2007, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
the runner can correct a running violation unless a succeeding runner has scored in front of him.
How can a succeeding runner score in front of him?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2007, 02:13pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I should have said a following runner, i.e. R2. I used the wrong word by mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2007, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
I should have said a following runner, i.e. R2. I used the wrong word by mistake.
Succeeding is the correct word. It means "following". I think the question regarded the statement "in front of him".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2007, 04:31pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
Succeeding is the correct word. It means "following". I think the question regarded the statement "in front of him".
Thank you - I had the right intention, just the wrong wording. Somehow, I got ahead of myself!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bases Loaded... mrm21711 Baseball 5 Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm
Bases loaded appeal results Leecedar Softball 6 Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:41pm
Base on Balls Bases Loaded For the kids Softball 18 Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am
Missing base after bases loaded home run Hearls3 Baseball 1 Tue Dec 23, 2003 05:56pm
bases loaded dropped third strike zebraman55 Softball 2 Fri Jun 08, 2001 12:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1