The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 18, 2007, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
[QUOTE=PeteBooth]
Quote:


R1 running on the pitch.

You are not telling the defense anything that they already do not know.

R1 was off with pitch and the ball was caught.

Everyone in the park knows that R1 has to go back and retouch first base.

The award in the scenario given is third base.

Here's where you award the runner home base.

R1: B1 singles

R1 misses second base and is trying for third. The defense in making a play on R1 at third base and throws the ball into DBT.

In the aforementioned scenario even though R1 missed second base you still award R1 home because if you didn't then you just told the defense that R1 missed second base.

2 totally different situations.

In the first situation you award the runner third because everyone knew that R1 had to retag 1st base and you are not "tipping the balance of power".

In the second scenario you award the runner home because to do otherwise you are "tipping the balance of power"

Pete Booth

My comment is based on the MLBUM. I'll take their interpretation over yours.

MLBUM Section 5.10.


"Play: Runner on first, one out. Batter flies out to right field for second out. However, runner on first thought there were two out and is between second and third when the ball is caught. Right fielder's throw to first is wild and goes into the dugout. Runner is between second and third when
the wild throw is made.

"Ruling: Runner is initially awarded home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw). However, while the ball is dead, the runner must return to and retouch first base. Furthermore, because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play, he must return
to first before reaching and touching third (his next base). If the runner touches third, he may not return to first; and if the defensive team appeals, the runner is out at first. However, if the runner properly returns and retouches first before reaching third, the award then becomes third base (two bases from his original base)."
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base Awards illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:06pm
base awards on obstruction cards2323 Baseball 6 Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:42am
Base Awards blueskysblue Softball 3 Sat Jun 26, 2004 12:29pm
Base Awards harmbu Baseball 6 Fri Apr 30, 2004 10:25am
Base Awards? cmcallm Baseball 18 Thu Oct 05, 2000 08:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1