The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
It's the same as "R2, R3, two outs, coach (for some reason) callas for the squeeze play. BR bunts the ball, R3 scores, R2 continues around third and is put out before BR reaches first."

Since B1 became BR his time at bat is over, and B2 leads off the next inning.
Bob,

Except in the situation being discussed, the F1 balked while delivering the pitch, and the BR did NOT reach 1B safely (or otherwise). Since the conditions for disregarding the balk were not met, why wouldn't you disregard the results of the playing action and enforce the balk?

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Bob,

Except in the situation being discussed, the F1 balked while delivering the pitch, and the BR did NOT reach 1B safely (or otherwise). Since the conditions for disregarding the balk were not met, why wouldn't you disregard the results of the playing action and enforce the balk?

JM
In the case presented we had a balk followed by a play.

Playing action was not over (ie runners advancing) so you do not call TIME.

The umpire will say "that's a balk" and allow play to proceed.

In reality 99 times out of 100 when the umpire Yells "that's a balk" , play stops anyhow and you simply enforce but let's stick with the thread.

It's the same as any other delayed situation meaning you do not call TIME until playing action is over.

When is playing action over?

Answer: When runners are stationary and the ball is at or near the pitchers mound.

In the situation described, you call TIME after R2 is played on.

When playing action is over you now call TIME and enforce the balk. R3 advanced, R2 advanced (one base) but he decided on his own to go further.

Conclusion:

R3's run counts R2 is the third out. R2 does not get carte blanche simply because a balk was called.

FED is a different story. In FED as soon as F1 commits a balk the call is TIME that's a balk and we simply enforce.


Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Pete,

I'm not sure which of the 3 situations descibed in this thread you are specifically referring to.

I understand the point that (under OBR) when a balk is followed immediately by a pitch or throw the umpire does not call time until play relaxes or some runner did not reach his advance base. I also understand that a runner who attempts to advance beyond his advance base in this situation does so at risk of being put out.

What I am trying to get a clarification on is the specific situation I posed where, following a balk on a 3rd strike not caught pitch, the R2 was put out (for the 3rd out of the half inning) at home on a play at the plate prior to the BR reaching 1B.

By the "letter" of the rule, the balk should be enforced because the BR did not reach 1B safely; therefore, the conditions for disregarding the balk were not met.

3appleshigh suggests that the BR "...techncally speaking awarded first base...", which I personally find insupportable.

Bob Jenkins then followed with the suggestion that the batter had become a runner and completed his time at bat.

Now, if the balk were to be disregarded, that would make perfect sense to me.

However, if the balk is NOT disregarded, the pitch is nullified and the batter would be returned to the plate with the same count he had prior to the balk.

Now I can't find any authoritative source that addresses this specific situation. Absent anything to the contrary, I would be inclined to enforce the balk because the BR did not reach 1B safely.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Pete,

I'm not sure which of the 3 situations descibed in this thread you are specifically referring to.

I understand the point that (under OBR) when a balk is followed immediately by a pitch or throw the umpire does not call time until play relaxes or some runner did not reach his advance base. I also understand that a runner who attempts to advance beyond his advance base in this situation does so at risk of being put out.

What I am trying to get a clarification on is the specific situation I posed where, following a balk on a 3rd strike not caught pitch, the R2 was put out (for the 3rd out of the half inning) at home on a play at the plate prior to the BR reaching 1B.

By the "letter" of the rule, the balk should be enforced because the BR did not reach 1B safely; therefore, the conditions for disregarding the balk were not met.

3appleshigh suggests that the BR "...techncally speaking awarded first base...", which I personally find insupportable.

Bob Jenkins then followed with the suggestion that the batter had become a runner and completed his time at bat.

Now, if the balk were to be disregarded, that would make perfect sense to me.

However, if the balk is NOT disregarded, the pitch is nullified and the batter would be returned to the plate with the same count he had prior to the balk.

Now I can't find any authoritative source that addresses this specific situation. Absent anything to the contrary, I would be inclined to enforce the balk because the BR did not reach 1B safely.

JM
The batter "acquired" first base in the same way he would with a Fielder's Choice that ends the inning. (maybe it is even scored like that in the book....for that answer, we may have to ask the rule 10 expert--Tee)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 03, 2007, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

BigTex,

Again, interesting theory, but it doesn't really jibe with

Quote:
7.01
A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base.
very well, does it?

Now I certainly don't have anything definitive that says the balk should be enforced in this situation - but that seems the ruling most in accord with what the rules say, at least to me.

And I certainly haven't seen anything definitive, or convincing, that says the balk should be disregarded.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greater Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 611
Send a message via Yahoo to umpduck11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
R2 made the third out of the inning after going past his advance/award base before B/R reached 1B.
BTW-It still wouldn't have mattered if the B/R acquired 1B. Same result, balk nullified.
Maybe I'm blind, but I don't read the OS as saying R2 was put out ; I read
that F2 made a play on BR, and it was left up in the air as to R2's position
after he "rounds 3rd aggressively".
__________________
All generalizations are bad. - R.H. Grenier
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Be an official donator of Friends of the Rotterdam Basketbalclass fonsmm Basketball 14 Mon Jun 10, 2013 09:47am
Hello to all my Ump Friends! Elaine "Lady Blue" Softball 11 Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:18pm
More news from our FEEBLE friends in France Mark Padgett Basketball 1 Fri May 16, 2003 07:41am
Too close for call Mattinglyfan Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2003 05:37pm
Hello to all my friends mtoombs Baseball 1 Thu Aug 24, 2000 05:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1